Skip to main content

Other Heartbreaks

Patricia Henley


List Price: 14.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (10/1/2011)


In this collection of elegant, moving stories, Patricia Henley explores the many bonds and betrayals among women: mothers, daughters, lovers, friends. Her characters, at once familiar and surprising, make their way through grief and discovery, revealing the power of their own hearts and of the landscapes where they reside. In "Rocky Gap," June Peck and her family gather to honor their lost sister; in "Red Lily" the secrets and lies Jenny Rogers keeps and tells will change her life; in the haunting and hopeful "Ephemera," Sophie March-Gonzales faces the worst kind of loss, and through that loss, finds a future to cherish. Don't miss the first collection of new stories since 1992 from one of our most powerful writers.

Engine Books, 9780983547723, 178pp.

Publication Date: October 11, 2011

About the Author

Patricia Henley's first novel, Hummingbird House, was a finalist for the National Book Award in 1999 and the New Yorker Fiction Prize in 2000. Her second novel, In the River Sweet, was published by Pantheon in 2002 and released in paperback in 2004. Her publications also include three collections of stories, Friday Night at Silver Star, The Secret of Cartwheels, and Worship of the Common Heart. She has taught in the MFA program at Purdue since 1987.