Skip to main content
Cover for Ravenous


New & Selected Poems

Rick Mulkey


List Price: 12.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Ravenous: New & Selected Poems by Rick Mulkey provides new and returning readers an opportunity to consider recent and previously published work in a collection containing wide stylistic variety with deep unifying themes and concerns. From an 18th Century Persian village to the porches and homestead's of the Appalachian South, these poems counterpoint the sorrowful with the joyful, exploring how "even in the soul's grim mines, one tuned string/perfectly plucked could make us believe all would be right.

Serving House Books, 9780991328147, 104pp.

Publication Date: June 24, 2014

About the Author

Rick Mulkey is the author of four previous poetry collections, including Toward Any Darkness, Before the Age of Reason, and Bluefield Breakdown. Individual poems and essays have appeared in a variety of periodicals such as Crab Orchard Review, Denver Quarterly, The Literary Review, Poet Lore, Poetry East, Shenandoah, and Southern Poetry Review, and his work has appeared in numerous anthologies, including American Poetry: the Next Generation, The Southern Poetry Anthology: Volumes I and II, and A Millennial Sampler of South Carolina Poetry, among others. He has received a Hawthornden Fellowship and The Literary Review's Charles Angoff Award, among others. Mulkey has taught at universities and writing workshops in the United States and Europe, and he currently directs the low residency MFA program in Creative Writing at Converse College.