Skip to main content
Cover for The Fear of Winter

The Fear of Winter

S. C. Sterling


List Price: 12.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


On a frigid December night, Megan Floyd vanishes from the mountain town of Fraser, Colorado. The extensive search provides no answers and as attention of her disappearance fades, the case goes cold. Her father, Tom Floyd, is forced to confront his worst fear that his daughter will never be found, and soon his life and marriage begin to disintegrate around him.

A year after the disappearance and with no new leads, Tom hires private investigator Marshall York, a former detective, and his assistant Hannah Jacobs. They soon start to uncover the secrets of Megan's dangerous second life, all while fighting their own demons. Tom is guilt-ridden over a missing child case from his past, and Hannah is haunted by the unsolved murder of her older sister.

The case begins to consume all three of their lives, and as they dig deeper, they start to unravel the dark truth of what happened to Megan.

No Bueno! Publishing, 9780997017526, 234pp.

Publication Date: January 18, 2023

About the Author

Scott C. Sterling is originally from Portland, Oregon, and moved to Denver, Colorado at the age of thirteen.

His first crime thriller novel, The Fear Of Winter, will be published in early 2023. It is Book One in The Fear Of Series.

Non-fiction books include Teenage Degenerate, a memoir about drug addiction and growing up, and 33 Percent Rockstar: Music, Heartbreak and the Pursuit of Rock Stardom is a music autobiography about the vast majority of musicians who never achieve rock stardom.