Skip to main content
Cover for Healing from Hidden Abuse

Healing from Hidden Abuse

A Journey Through the Stages of Recovery from Psychological Abuse

Shannon Thomas


List Price: 12.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Within every community, toxic people can be found hiding in families, couples, companies, and places of worship. The cryptic nature of psychological abuse involves repetitious mind games played by one individual or a group of people. Psychological abuse leaves no bruises. There are no broken bones. There are no holes in the walls. The bruises, brokenness, and holes are held tightly within the target of the abuse. Healing from Hidden Abuse walks the reader through each of the six recovery stages researched and developed by the author. The stages are Despair, Education, Awakening, Boundaries, Restoration, and Maintenance. A guided Personal Reflections journal is included in the back of the book to help the reader go deeper in their application of the six stages of recovery. The journal can be used individually or in a small group setting.

Mast Publishing House, 9780997829082, 286pp.

Publication Date: August 25, 2016

About the Author

Shannon Thomas, LCSW is a licensed clinical social worker supervisor, and the owner/lead therapist of a private practice counseling agency in Southlake, Texas. Her passion is helping people overcome life challenges and seeing abuse survivors living to their fullest potential. She approaches her counseling work from the lens of a therapist and as a fellow survivor of psychological abuse.