Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage (Hardcover)

The Selected Stories of Bette Howland

By Bette Howland, Honor Moore (Afterword by)

Public Space Books, 9780998267500, 336pp.

Publication Date: May 14, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (5/5/2020)
MP3 CD (3/24/2020)

List Price: 26.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Chicago Tribune Notable Book of 2019
Kirkus 2019 Best Fiction
Booklist Best New Book
Vogue.com Best Book
Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books of 2019

Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage restores to the literary canon an extraordinarily gifted writer, who was recognized as a major talent, with Guggenheim and MacArthur "genius" fellowships, before all but disappearing from public view for decades, until nearly the end of her life when her work was rediscovered.

Bette Howland herself was an outsider: an intellectual from a working-class neighborhood in Chicago; a divorc e and single mother, to the disapproval of her family; an artist chipped away at by poverty and perfection. Each of these facets plays a central role in her work. Mining her deepest emotions for her art, she chronicles the tensions of her generation--and her native city--with a flair for language in the tradition of Lucia Berlin, Kathleen Collins, and Grace Paley. Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage introduces a new generation of readers to a wry, brilliant observer and a writer of great empathy and sly, joyous humor. With an afterword by Honor Moore.


About the Author

Bette Howland (1937-2017) published three books in her lifetime: W-3, and the story collections Blue in Chicago and Things to Come and Go. She received a MacArthur Fellowship in 1984, after which she did not publish another book. Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage, her selected stories, was published in 2019, restoring to the canon the work of a remarkable writer.