Skip to main content
Cover for The Black Flamingo

The Black Flamingo

Dean Atta (Read by)

Compact Disc

List Price: 22.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (5/25/2020)
Paperback (5/25/2021)
Hardcover (5/26/2020)
MP3 CD (5/26/2020)

Description

Stonewall Book Award Winner

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, written and narrated by acclaimed UK poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender.

Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he's navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican--but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough.

As he gets older, Michael's coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs--and the Black Flamingo is born.

Told with raw honesty, insight, and lyricism, this debut explores the layers of identity that make us who we are--and allow us to shine.

HarperCollins, 9781094159478

Publication Date: May 26, 2020