Among the Ten Thousand Things (Compact Disc)

By Julia Pierpont, Hillary Huber (Read by)

Random House Audio Publishing Group, 9781101912874

Publication Date: July 7, 2015

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (7/6/2015)
Paperback (6/14/2016)
Hardcover (7/7/2015)

List Price: 40.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND THE HUFFINGTON POST - For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.

Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn't mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face-to-face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack's secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it's delivered into the wrong hands: her children's.

With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, fifteen-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time, while eleven-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can't possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life--their brittleness, and their resilience.

Praise for Among the Ten Thousand Things

"A luscious, smart summer novel . . . by a blazingly talented young author."--The New York Times Book Review

"This book is one of the funniest, and most emotionally honest, I've read in a long time."--Jonathan Safran Foer

"Obsessively compelling . . . emotionally sophisticated . . . Among the Ten Thousand Things rises above other novels] for its imagined structure, sentence-by-sentence punch, and pure humanity."--Vanity Fair

"Gripping . . . Pierpont brings this family of four to life in sharply observed detail. . . . An acute observer of social comedy, Ms. Pierpont has a keen eye for the absurd."--The Wall Street Journal

"Pierpont's language is heart-stopping. . . . Between Pierpont's literary finesse and her captivating characters, Among the Ten Thousand Things] reads like a page-turner."--Entertainment Weekly (grade: A)

"A twisty, gripping story--that packs an emotional wallop."--O: The Oprah Magazine

"There are going to be as many ingenious twists and turns in this literary novel as there are in a top-notch work of suspense like Gone Girl."--Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air

"Tender, delicately perceptive . . . Pierpont's voice is wry and confident, and she is a fine anthropologist of New York life."--The Washington Post

"Pierpont displays a precocious gift for language and observation. . . . She captures the minutiae of loneliness that pushes us away from each other and sometimes brings us back."--San Francisco Chronicle

From the Hardcover edition.


About the Author

Julia Pierpont is a graduate of the NYU Creative Writing Program, where she received the Rona Jaffe Foundation Graduate Fellowship, as well as the Stein Fellowship. She lives in New York City.