Fire and Heist (Hardcover)

By Sarah Beth Durst

Crown Books for Young Readers, 9781101931004, 304pp.

Publication Date: December 4, 2018

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Fans of Cassandra Clare and Julie Kagawa will devour this contemporary fantasy about a teen were-dragon who must steal her first treasure. But a dark discovery during her heist could put her family in incredible danger.

In Sky Hawkins's family, leading your first heist is a major milestone--even more so than learning to talk, walk, or do long division. It's a chance to gain power and acceptance within your family, and within society. But stealing your first treasure can be complicated, especially when you're a wyvern--a human capable of turning into a dragon.

Embarking on a life of crime is never easy, and Sky discovers secrets about her mother, who recently went missing, the real reason her boyfriend broke up with her, and a valuable jewel that could restore her family's wealth and rank in their community.

With a handpicked crew by her side, Sky knows she has everything she needs to complete her first heist, and get her boyfriend and mother back in the process. But then she uncovers a dark truth about were-dragon society--a truth more valuable and dangerous than gold or jewels could ever be.


About the Author

Sarah Beth Durst is the award-winning author of numerous fantasy books for children, teens, and adults, including Conjured, Drink Slay Love, and The Queen of Blood. She won an ALA-YALSA Alex Award and a Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature, and has been a finalist for the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy three times. Sarah lives in Stony Brook, New York, with her husband, her children, and her ill-mannered cat. You can follow her on Facebook, on Instagram, and on Twitter at @sarahbethdurst, or visit her at sarahbethdurst.com.