Pinky Got Out! (Hardcover)

By Michael Portis, Lori Richmond (Illustrator)

Crown Books for Young Readers, 9781101932988, 40pp.

Publication Date: May 21, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Library Binding (5/21/2019)

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Fans of Tad Hills and Jory John will love this hilarious picture book about Pinky, a flamingo at the zoo who sneakily slips out to join a group of kids on their zoo tour.

Pinky isn't your typical flamingo. He's a real escape artist!

When he sees a young girl named Penny and her class touring the zoo, Pinky feels like they're birds of a feather and decides to make a break for it.

Penny is the first to spot the flamingo hiding in plain sight. One by one, she lets her friends in on Pinky's antics as he tries to blend in with the seals, the meerkats, and even the pandas.

Young readers will enjoy trying to find Pinky on every spread and will be curious to discover whether he can actually fly the coop!


About the Author

Michael Portis is a children's book author and illustrator from Studio City, California. He received his MFA in art at UCLA and is an art director and children's book app designer. Pinky Got Out! is his debut picture book. You can visit him at michaelportis.com.

Lori Richmond got out of her studio and explored the Bronx Zoo while making this book. She is the illustrator of several picture books and the author-illustrator of Pax and Blue and Bunny's Staycation. She lives with her family in Brooklyn, New York. You can follow her on Instagram and Twitter at @loririchmond or visit her at loridraws.com.