Beyond the Doors (Hardcover)

By David Neilsen

Crown Books for Young Readers, 9781101935828, 368pp.

Publication Date: August 1, 2017

Advertisement

Description

Fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events and Coraline will devour this dark and creepy, humor-laced tale about four siblings who discover a mysterious world where secrets hide around every corner.

When a family disaster forces the four Rothbaum children to live with their aunt Gladys, they immediately know there is something strange about their new home. The crazy, circular house looks like it stepped out of a scary movie. The front entrance is a four-story-tall drawbridge. And the only food in Aunt Gladys's kitchen is an endless supply of Honey Nut Oat Blast Ring-a-Dings cereal.

Strangest of all are the doors--there are none. Every doorway is a wide-open passageway--even the bathroom Who lives in a house with no doors?

Their unease only grows when Aunt Gladys disappears for long stretches of time, leaving them alone to explore the strange house. When they discover just what Aunt Gladys has been doing with all her doors, the shocked siblings embark on an adventure that changes everything they believe about their family and the world.


About the Author

David Neilsen is the author of Dr. Fell and the Playground of Doom. He is also a classically trained actor and storyteller, a journalist, and a theater and improvisation teacher. During the Halloween season, David can be found telling spooky tales to audiences of all ages or performing his one-man shows based on the horror author H. P. Lovecraft. David lives in New York's Hudson Valley with his family and cats. Visit him at david-neilsen.com.
Advertisement