Charlotte and the Rock (Hardcover)

By Stephen W. Martin, Samantha Cotterill (Illustrator)

Dial Books, 9781101993897, 32pp.

Publication Date: March 14, 2017

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

An unexpected friendship forms between a girl and her pet rock in this charming story that’s perfect for fans of What Pet Should I Get?

Charlotte has always really wanted a pet, so when her parents present her with one for her birthday she expects a cat, dog, or maybe a bird. Instead, she receives a rock. Rocks can't cuddle, fetch, or even help her eat her vegetables, but that doesn’t stop Charlotte from loving her rock as if he were real. If only he could love her back...or can he?


About the Author

Stephen W. Martin is a writer and director, with several award-winning short films to his credit. He is the author of Robot Smash and is also the coauthor of Pop Manga with renowned manga artist and comics creator Camilla D’Errico.

Samantha Cotterill is an illustrator and textile designer. She works and resides with her family in Upstate New York.


Praise For Charlotte and the Rock

"Amusing as well as subtly encouraging about the rewards for patience and working with what you've got." —Kirkus 

"Martin’s dry humor delivers giggles (“You said what ate your homework?” Charlotte’s teacher snaps), and so does the concluding reversal of fortune." —Publishers Weekly

"The sharp, declarative text and warm, funny illustrations make Charlotte and Dennis...an irresistible pair." —Horn Book

"Kids will giggle over Charlotte’s efforts to treat her rock like a normal pet, and it’s refreshingto see a child making the best of a disappointing situation."  Booklist

"Children will laugh at the surprise ending and may be inspired to try to hatch a pet rock of their own....A recommended purchase for any primary collection." —School Library Journal