Skip to main content
Cover for A Song for Snow (Hoot and Peep)

A Song for Snow (Hoot and Peep)

Lita Judge, Lita Judge (Illustrator)

Hardcover

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A young owl experiences the magic of a first snowfallthe quiet wintery wonder, the pristine beauty, and snowballs!in this follow-up to the adorable Hoot and Peep

It’s Peep’s first winter, and it’s going to snow very, very soon. Peep has so many questions for her older brother Hoot: Does snow drop, polppety splop, like the rain's song? Does it scrinkle scrattle like falling leaves? But Hoot can't remember snow very well. The one thing he knows for sure is that it is worth waiting for.

But Peep doesn't have his patience, and as she flies around the gorgeous Paris skies, she tries her best to make up her own snow song. But once those first snowflakes start to fall, Peep realizes just how wise her older brother really is for waiting...and just who she wants to cuddle up to when the snow starts to really sing.

With all the wonder and the joy of a first snow day, and perfect for fans of The Quiet Book and Little Owl's Night, this tender follow-up to Hoot and Peep is certainly worth waiting for, too.


Praise For A Song for Snow (Hoot and Peep)

"Judge uses delightfully creative language...As the birds converse, they swoop through the romantic Parisian night, where glowing lights, bright store windows, and decorated shrubbery suggest that the holiday season is near."—Kirkus Reviews

"This delightful seasonal read-aloud provides excellent sibling role models while it gently amuses and entrances young listeners."—School Library Journal

"This second tale of thoughtful, conservative Hoot and his exuberant sister will charm children with its warm sibling relationship, engaging pictures, and anticipation of winter’s wonders."—Booklist Online

"The sound effects offer fine possibilities for readaloud creativity...Use this as a bedtime book for the night before a snowy weekend morning, when anticipation is at its peak."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Dial Books, 9781101994511, 40pp.

Publication Date: November 14, 2017



About the Author

Lita Judge is the author/illustrator of over a dozen picture books, including the modern classic Red Sled, the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Gold Medal winner Born to Be Giants, and the IRA Children’s Book Award winner One Thousand Tracings. Lita lives with her husband, two cats, and a little green parrot named Beatrix Potter in Peterborough, New Hampshire.