Being Audrey Hepburn (Hardcover)

A Novel

By Mitchell Kriegman

St. Martin's Griffin, 9781250001467, 336pp.

Publication Date: September 16, 2014

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In Being Audrey Hepburn, Clarissa Explains It All-creator, Mitchell Kriegman, tells the story of a 19-year-old girl from Jersey who finds herself thrust into the world of socialites after being seen in Audrey Hepburn's dress from the film Breakfast at Tiffany's.

Lisbeth comes from a broken home in the land of tube tops, heavy eyeliner, frosted lip-gloss, juiceheads, hoop earrings and "the shore." She has a circle of friends who have dedicated their teenage lives to relieve the world of all its alcohol one drink at a time.

Obsessed with everything Audrey Hepburn, Lisbeth is transformed when she secretly tries on Audrey's iconic Givenchy. She becomes who she wants to be by pretending to be somebody she's not and living among the young and privileged Manhattan elite. Soon she's faced with choices that she would never imagine making – between who she's become and who she once was.

In the tradition of The Nanny Diaries and The Devil Wears Prada, this is a coming of age story that all begins with that little black dress…



About the Author

MITCHELL KRIEGMAN has been published in The New Yorker, The National Lampoon, New York Press, Glamour, and Harper’s Bazaar. A winner of four Emmy Awards and a Directors Guild Award, he was also a writer for Saturday Night Live. Kriegman was the creator of the classic groundbreaking television series Clarissa Explains It All, as well as the executive head writer on Ren and Stimpy, Rugrats, and Doug. He is currently teaching writing and filmmaking at Stonybrook Southampton.


Praise For Being Audrey Hepburn: A Novel

“Best of all, Kriegman's women...feel real and full of unexpected dimensions.” —Santa Barbara Independent

“A fun read sure to cure you of the mean reds.” —Rare Audrey Hepburn.com

“A fun, girly read [with] depth and intensity...Highly recommend.” —I'd So Rather Be Reading.com

“It moves along as easily as Fred Astaire on a ballroom floor…If you're looking for a novel that will hold your attention from page one, this is for you, no matter what your age.” —EverBeautiful.com

“Teens...will love to live vicariously through Lisbeth.” —School Library Journal

“Ideal for Audrey fans or anyone who wants to escape the mundane.” —Kirkus Reviews

“First-time novelist Kriegman (creator of Clarissa Explains It All) hits all the right notes for breezy escapist fiction.” —Publishers Weekly

“This is a fun romp: witty writing, passion and fashion, and oodles of Audrey. A perfect cure for the mean reds.” —Booklist

“For anyone who believes in the magical powers of the perfect dress, this is the book for you! Kriegman has created a delightful, mystical escape where readers can easily slip into the dress (and matching shoes!) of Manhattan's most elite. With a narrative voice fit for lovers of young adult and new adult fiction, and a fresh fun take on the beloved mistaken identity trope, Being Audrey Hepburn is sure to please a wide range of readers.” —Julie Cross, international bestselling author of Tempest