Skip to main content
Cover for Hasty Death

Hasty Death

An Edwardian Murder Mystery (Edwardian Murder Mysteries #2)

M. C. Beaton


List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Compact Disc (2/1/2013)


Eager to join the working classes, Lady Rose Summer has abandoned the comforts of her parents' home to become self-supporting. But life as a working woman isn't quite what Rose had imagined---long hours as a typist and nights spent in a dreary women's hostel are not very empowering when you're poor, cold, and tired. Luckily for Rose, her drudgery comes to a merciful end when she learns of the untimely death of an acquaintance.

Freddy Pomfret, a silly and vacuous young man, was almost certainly up to no good before he was shot dead in his London flat. When Rose discovers incriminating evidence pointing to several members of her class, she returns to London high society in order to investigate properly. With the help of Captain Harry Cathcart and Superintendent Kerridge of Scotland Yard, Rose prepares to do the social rounds—uncovering a devious blackmail plot and an unexpected killer.

Set in Britain during the Edwardian world of parties, servants, and scandal, M. C. Beaton's Hasty Death is a delightful combination of murderous intrigue and high society.

Praise For Hasty Death: An Edwardian Murder Mystery (Edwardian Murder Mysteries #2)

“Fans of the author's Hamish Macbeth and Agatha Raisin mysteries...will welcome this new series of historical whodunits.” —Booklist

“Combines history, romance, and intrigue, resulting in a delightful romantic mystery.” —Midwest Book Review

“A delightful costume melodrama, featuring wry humor and sleuthing protagonists with a pesky love/hate relationship.” —Library Journal

“Old hand [Beaton] maintains her charm and sassiness while indicting evergreen pomposity and class-status stupidity.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Fans of the author's Agatha Raisin and Hamish Macbeth series should welcome this tale of aristocrats, house parties, servants and murder.” —Publishers Weekly

“If you are a fan of well-written traditional mysteries, Lord Peter and Albert Campion, you might want to try this series. I, for one, will be eagerly awaiting the next.” —Reviewing the Evidence

Minotaur Books, 9781250022493, 240pp.

Publication Date: January 8, 2013

About the Author

M. C. Beaton (1936-2019), the “Queen of Crime” (The Globe and Mail), was the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Agatha Raisin novels -- the basis for the hit show on Acorn TV and public television -- as well as the Hamish Macbeth series and the Edwardian Murder Mysteries featuring Lady Rose Summer. Born in Scotland, she started her career writing historical romances under several pseudonyms and her maiden name, Marion Chesney.

In 2006, M.C. was the British guest of honor at Bouchercon.