Sons of Zeus (Hardcover)

A Novel (Nikias of Plataea #1)

By Noble Smith

Thomas Dunne Books, 9781250025579, 336pp.

Publication Date: June 11, 2013

List Price: 25.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In 431 B.C., Ancient Greece experienced its own "Pearl Harbor"—a treacherous sneak attack that would mark the start of the bloody war between the democracy of Athens and the tyranny of Sparta. Caught between these superpowers, the independent city-state of Plataea became the arena where their battle for control of all of Greece would begin.

In Plataea, the young Greek warrior Nikias dreams of glory in the Olympic games as he trains for the pankration—the no-holds-barred ultimate fighting of the era—until an act of violence in defense of his beloved threatens to send him into exile. But before his trial can take place, a traitor opens the city gates to a surprise attack force.

Suddenly trapped inside their own fortress, the Plataeans are fighting for their lives. As Nikias seeks to discover the identity of the man who betrayed the city, he makes a daring escape, gathers an army, and leads this ragtag band into a suicidal battle at the gates of the citadel—a battle that will decide the fates of his family, his friends, and the woman he loves.

In the vein of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden, and Steven Pressfield, Sons of Zeus marks the beginning of a richly detailed new action-adventure series.



About the Author

NOBLE SMITH is an award-winning playwright who has worked as a video-game writer, a documentary-film executive producer, and the media director of an international human rights foundation. He is also the author of the novella Stolen from Gypsies, the nonfiction book The Wisdom of the Shire: A Short Guide to a Long and Happy Life, and the novel Sons of Zeus. He lives in the Pacific Northwest with his wife and children.


Praise For Sons of Zeus: A Novel (Nikias of Plataea #1)

“Those interested in ancient Greek history, particularly warfare, should be looking forward to the sequels.” —Historical Novels Review

“Noble Smith gobsmacked us with Sons of Zeus! It takes an author with real talent to engross us in a story. It takes even more talent for an author to convince us we're completely in his world. The guy knows his subject! But forget the meticulous research. Open the first page, sit back with your favorite beverage, and let Smith work his magic. Terrific action, with a wickedly brilliant plot, visceral combat, and nail-biting treachery, even the love story in Sons of Zeus is going to have you on the edge of your seat. In the end you'll be as delighted as we were to discover a skyrocketing new talent in historical fiction, and wanting more.” —W. Michael Gear and Kathleen O'Neal Gear, authors of People of the Morning Star