The Drowning Ground (Hardcover)

A Novel

By James Marrison

Minotaur Books, 9781250054197, 384pp.

Publication Date: August 25, 2015

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover, Large Print (1/6/2016)

List Price: 36.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Out here, in the quaint ceaseless calm of an English vil­lage, it is hard to imagine a life beyond. From the outside, everything seems to make sense. Everything has its place.
My friends are open and unsuspecting. There is none of the natural suspicion of the Argentinian. . . For me, it's unbeliev­able in a way.

For two decades after being forced to leave his native Argentina, Detective Chief Inspector Guillermo Downes has sought tranquility in the orderly life of the English Cotswolds. But violence can strike just as suddenly in the countryside as it can in Buenos Aires.

When the body of wealthy landowner Frank Hurst is found with a pitchfork through his neck, it brings back disturbing memories of former mysteries. Hurst's wife drowned in their swimming pool-an official accident, though many villagers have their doubts. And what about the two young girls who were abducted years before, with some possible links to Hurst that were never proven?

''It's something truly terrible to make someone disap­pear,'' Downes tells his partner. Because the family never know, you see." Years ago he had promised the vanished girls' mothers to find their daughters, and as the ripples from Hurst's death spread through the village, there is fresh hope that he might finally make good on that promise, no matter what it costs the community or himself.

With the kind of insights into life in a seemingly peaceful village that made Broadchurch so powerful, James Marrison's The Drowning Ground introduces a terrific new voice in crime fiction.



About the Author

JAMES MARRISON is a journalist with a Master's degree in history, specializing in American Secret Intelligence, from the University of Edinburgh in England. Marrison was a regular contributor to Bizarre magazine in the UK, where he wrote about true crime, and he also wrote for an English language newspaper in Buenos Aires, Argentina, where he now lives. The Drowning Ground is his first novel.


Praise For The Drowning Ground: A Novel

“With an intricate plot with numerous twists and an intriguing cop with a complex history, Marrison rivets the reader straight through to the novel’s chilling conclusion. An author to watch, [Marrison] scores high with this impressive debut.” —Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Something wicked is afoot in Marrison's tense debut, set in the quiet picturesque villages of the English Cotswolds. . . . Marrison, who was educated at the University of Edinburgh and now lives in Buenos Aires, expertly evokes a sense of place through descriptions of Cotswolds life. [Chief Inspector Guillermo] Downes's reminiscences of his Argentinian heritage lend color. The highly unusual denouement will catch most readers by surprise.” —Publishers Weekly

“Marrison leaves just enough unexplained about his shrewd, moody protagonist to make you hope he'll return in a sequel.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Downes is an intriguing fish-out-of-water detective...Marrison's well-plotted mystery debut may appeal to fans of Elizabeth George and Peter Robinson.” —Booklist

“An intriguing debut....Taut and told with panache.” —The Daily Mail