Skip to main content


The Map That Leads to You

A Novel

J. P. Monninger

Paperback

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (4/16/2019)
Mass Market (7/28/2020)
Hardcover (6/13/2017)
Library Binding, Large Print (12/6/2017)
CD-Audio (6/13/2017)

Description

“Romantic and unforgettable.” —Nicholas Sparks

J.P. Monninger's The Map That Leads to You is a breathtaking novel about love, loss, and the best-laid plans that are meant to be broken.

Two strangers take the road less traveled...

Heather Mulgrew’s world is already mapped out: she is going to travel abroad with her friends after college, come back to a great career in September, and head into a life where not much is left to chance. But that was before an encounter on an overnight train introduces her to Jack, a passionate adventurer who changes the course of her journey and her life.

Throwing Heather's careful itinerary to the wind, they follow Jack's grandfather's journal through post-World War II era Europe: Vienna, Budapest, Turkey—exotic places that serve only to heighten their feelings. As September looms, Jack urges Heather to stay with him, to keep traveling, to give in to the romance of their experience; Heather convinces him to return to the United States.

Jack has a secret that could change everything. And Heather’s world is about to be shaken to the core.

One of the New York Post's "This Week's Must-Read Books"

Praise for The Map that Leads to You:

The Map That Leads to You is a gossamer confection, spun sugar at the summer carnival. It’s also an inspiriting estival fling, one that, as Heather says of her relationship with Jack, melts any residual winter ice. —The New York Times Book Review

"Will strike a chord with fans of Nicholas Sparks' sweeping and sentimental tales." —Booklist

"Readers who love romance novels with a bittersweet twist will cling to every word...Recommended for fans of Kristin Hannah and Nicholas Sparks." —School Library Journal



Praise For The Map That Leads to You: A Novel

Praise for The Map that Leads to You:

One of the New York Post's "This Week's Must-Read Books"

The Map That Leads to You is a gossamer confection, spun sugar at the summer carnival. It’s also an inspiriting estival fling, one that, as Heather says of her relationship with Jack, melts any residual winter ice. —The New York Times Book Review

"Will strike a chord with fans of Nicholas Sparks' sweeping and sentimental tales." —Booklist

"Readers who love romance novels with a bittersweet twist will cling to every word...Recommended for fans of Kristin Hannah and Nicholas Sparks." —School Library Journal

St. Martin's Griffin, 9781250060778, 400pp.

Publication Date: June 12, 2018



About the Author

JP MONNINGER, author of The Map that Leads to You, is an award-winning writer in New England and Professor of English at Plymouth State University.


Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

1. In what ways is this not only a romantic love story but also a love story about friendship?


2. On page 107, Heather explains the meaning that she, Amy, and Constance have given to the word true. What in your life is true in this way?


3. We first meet Heather’s parents through phone calls and text messages. What was your first impression of them? Did your impression change after they were introduced in person once Heather was back in America?


4. When Heather becomes overwhelmed while looking at Johannes Vermeer’s The Milkmaid she explains that it was the “pursuit of the simple and sublime, and it hurt my heart a little to let it inside me.” What does she mean by this? Have you ever experienced a similar feeling?


5. When Heather and Jack have their first fight about New York Heather accuses Jack of wanting to hurt her with his words. Do you think this is true? In a later argument Jack accuses Heather of trading in freedom for security. Why do you think Jack said what he did? Who did you find yourself siding with during their arguments?


6. Of all the places that Jack and Heather go and the adventures that they have, which were your favorites? Which scenes stood out to you the most?


7. What was your reaction when Jack abandoned Heather at the airport? Were you surprised, or did you see clues that this might happen earlier in the novel?


8. Were you surprised by Raef’s revelation to Heather at the wedding? Did you have any guesses as to where Raef and Jack had gone that day in Paris before Raef revealed the truth?


9. On page 369, Heather observes that, “Hemingway celebrated death in life; the Surva Festival asked for life in death. It made a difference, somehow, but I could not yet determine what that might be.” What does Heather mean by this? What do you think the difference is? How do we see these ideas reflected throughout the novel?


10. What was your reaction to the end of the novel? What do you imagine to happen for Heather and Jack after the Surva Festival?