The Selling of the Babe (Hardcover)

The Deal That Changed Baseball and Created a Legend

By Glenn Stout

Thomas Dunne Books, 9781250064318, 304pp.

Publication Date: March 8, 2016

List Price: 27.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

WINNER of the Society for American Baseball Research's (SABR) 2017 Larry Ritter Award for best baseball book of the Deadball Era

The complete story surrounding the most famous and significant player transaction in professional sports

The sale of Babe Ruth by the Boston Red Sox to the New York Yankees in 1919 is one of the pivotal moments in baseball history, changing the fortunes of two of baseball's most storied franchises, and helping to create the legend of the greatest player the game has ever known.

More than a simple transaction, the sale resulted in a deal that created the Yankee dynasty, turned Boston into an also-ran, helped save baseball after the Black Sox scandal and led the public to fall in love with Ruth. Award-winning baseball historian Glenn Stout reveals brand-new information about Babe and the unique political situation surrounding his sale, including:

-Prohibition and the lifting of Blue Laws in New York affected Yankees owner and beer baron Jacob Ruppert
-Previously unexplored documents reveal that the mortgage of Fenway Park did not factor into the Ruth sale
- Ruth's disruptive influence on the Red Sox in 1918 and 1919, including sabermetrics showing his negative impact on the team as he went from pitcher to outfielder

The Selling of the Babe is the first book to focus on the ramifications of the sale and captures the central moment of Ruth's evolution from player to icon, and will appeal to fans of The Kid and Pinstripe Empire. Babe's sale to New York and the subsequent selling of Ruth to America led baseball from the Deadball Era and sparked a new era in the game, one revolved around the long ball and one man, The Babe.



About the Author

GLENN STOUT is the series editor for The Best American Sports Writing and a Casey Award finalist author of such titles as Red Sox Century, Yankees Century, and Fenway 1912.


Praise For The Selling of the Babe: The Deal That Changed Baseball and Created a Legend

"The book debunks many of the myths and assumptions about the events leading up to the sale of Babe Ruth to the New York Yankees by the Boston Red Sox in 1919. Stout brings the era alive with its colorful characters, including Frazee, American League president Ban Johnson, Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert, and, of course, the Babe himself. Stout uses his considerable skills as a writer and historian to show how this event helped bring about baseball's modern era. His portrayal of this pivotal moment is fully engaging, taking the reader back to that exciting time." - Library Journal

"Stout does mighty good work... "The Selling of the Babe" will appeal to just about anyone who likes baseball history served up with facts and intelligence." - Sports Book Review Center