The Mother's Promise (Hardcover)

By Sally Hepworth

St. Martin's Press, 9781250077752, 384pp.

Publication Date: February 21, 2017

List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Sally Hepworth novels are "sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up." --Library Journal (starred review)

All their lives, Alice Stanhope and her daughter, Zoe, have been a family of two, living quietly in Northern California. Zoe has always struggled with crippling social anxiety and her mother has been her constant and fierce protector. With no family to speak of, and the identity of Zoe's father shrouded in mystery, their team of two works--until it doesn't. Until Alice gets sick and needs to fight for her life.

Desperate to find stability for Zoe, Alice reaches out to two women who are practically strangers but who are her only hope: Kate, a nurse, and Sonja, a social worker. As the four of them come together, a chain of events is set into motion and all four of them must confront their sharpest fears and secrets--secrets about abandonment, abuse, estrangement, and the deepest longing for family. Imbued with heart and humor in even the most dismal moments, The Mother's Promise is an unforgettable novel about the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters and the new ways in which families are forged.



About the Author

Sally Hepworth is a former human resource professional and a graduate of Monash University in Melbourne, Australia. Sally has lived around the world, spending extended periods in Singapore, the United Kingdom, and Canada, and she now writes full-time from her home in Melbourne, Australia, where she lives with her husband and two young children.