The Dog Who Saved Me (Paperback)

A Novel

By Susan Wilson

St. Martin's Griffin, 9781250080448, 352pp.

Publication Date: February 23, 2016

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Cooper Harrison, a member of the Boston K-9 unit, never thought he would ever go back to his hometown, Harmony Farms. But when his faithful canine partner, Argos, is killed in the line of duty, Cooper finds himself mired in grief. Jobless, on the verge of divorce, and in a self-destructive rut, Cooper has little choice but to accept an offer for the position of animal control officer in Harmony Farms.

And so he finds himself back where he started. Where his father, Bull, was once known as the town drunk. Where his brother, Jimmy, was a delinquent and a bully. Where he grew up as "one of those" Harrisons. Forced to face the past while dealing with the present--including his brother's continued involvement in the drug business--Cooper does his job with deliberate detachment, refusing to get emotionally invested in another dog the way he had with Argos. Until he finds himself rescuing a wounded and gun-shy yellow lab gone feral...

Cooper never thought he'd find himself going back in order to move forward, yet Harmony Farms is the one place where Cooper must learn to forgive and, only then, heal. All with the help of a yellow dog, who has a history--and secrets--that Cooper must uncover.

"Superior. A moving tale about canine healing power." --Booklist on The Dog Who Saved Me



About the Author

Susan Wilson is the bestselling author of books including One Good Dog, Cameo Lake and Beauty, a modern retelling of Beauty and the Beast, which was made into a CBS-TV movie. She lives on Martha’s Vineyard.


Praise For The Dog Who Saved Me: A Novel

“Touching and heartfelt.” —Modern Dog magazine on A Man of His Own

“A War Horse for dog lovers.” —Booklist on A Man of His Own

“With deft brushstrokes and an earthy delivery, Wilson develops strong characters caught together first hand and afar through years of confrontation and frustration. And through Pax, that bond and feisty spirit is magnified in a refreshing manner that connects powerfully to the reader.” —Seattle Kennel Club on A Man of His Own

“A Nicholas Sparks–ian romantic drama, with an "everyone loves a dog" twist.” —Kirkus on A Man of His Own

“The last few pages bring an unexpected ending that will call for a few tissues as readers smile through tears.” —Best Friends Magazine on A Man of His Own

“Susan Wilson dishes up another captivating story that will keep you hooked until the last page is turned.” —Modern Dog magazine on The Dog Who Danced

“I would unhesitatingly recommend this book to dog lovers and "non-dog" people alike.” —BellaDog on The Dog Who Danced

“Superior. A moving tale about canine healing power.” —Booklist on The Dog Who Danced

“Multiple hankies, dog lovers…this is an emotional read.” —Library Journal on The Dog Who Danced

“Fans of Wilson's One Good Dog, or new readers looking for a heartwarming tale of the bond between human and animal, will find plenty to enjoy.” —Publishers Weekly on The Dog Who Danced

“A wonderful novel: a moving, tender, and brilliantly crafted story.” —Garth Stein, New York Times bestselling author of The Art of Racing in the Rain, on One Good Dog

“A finely wrought story of second chances and also of the power of the human/canine bond.” —Bark Magazine on One Good Dog

One Good Dog will make you cry, will make you laugh, will make you feel things more than you thought possible--and it will make you believe in second chances.” —Augusten Burroughs, New York Times bestselling author, on One Good Dog

“[One Good Dog] evokes both laughter and tears, but the ending assures you that humans and dogs are capable of redemption.” —Library Journal on One Good Dog

“Fans of Marley and Me will find a new dog to cheer for in Wilson's insightful heart-tugger…Old Yeller's got nothing on this very good man and his dog story.” —Publisher’s Weekly on One Good Dog