A Week without Tuesday (Tuesday McGillycuddy Adventures) (Paperback)

By Stevie Lewis (Illustrator), Angelica Banks

Square Fish, 9781250104229, 400pp.

Publication Date: February 7, 2017

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (2/2/2016)

List Price: 7.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A charming adventure full of magic and mystery, set in the land where stories come from.

Something is broken in the land of story. Real and imaginary worlds are colliding—putting everything and everyone in grave peril. Tuesday and Baxterr, at the request of the Librarian, and with the help of Vivienne Small, venture to find the Gardener—the one person who can stop this catastrophe. On their way, they'll meet friends and foes, and discover strengths they didn't know they had. Will they be able to save the land of story?

A Week Without Tuesday by Angelica Banks, with illustrations by Stevie Lewis, is the charming sequel to Finding Serendipity, a middle grade novel full of all the magic, mystery, and adorable illustrations readers have come to expect from this series.

This title has Common Core connections.

“All the worlds are fully rendered and themes of imagination, courage, family, sacrifice, and friendship are beautifully explored. Fans of Edith Nesbit, Michael Ende’s The Neverending Story, and Roderick Townley’s The Great Good Thing have a new home with Angelica Banks.” —Booklist, starred review

“Banks’s wondrously whimsical language helps transport readers into this imaginative world. . . . Creative young authors as well as fantasy lovers will enjoy this inventive book.” —School Library Journal



About the Author

Stevie Lewis has been living on the road, furthering her passion for climbing, art, and the outdoors. Striving to live simply and tread lightly on the earth, she gathers inspiration from a variety of places, be it climbing in the high desert in central Oregon, hiking in the wilderness of Alaska, or sharing laughs with fellow travelers around a campfire. After working for four years in animation, she now illustrates children's books and creates art based on her travels.

Stevie's books include A Week without Tuesday, Finding Serendipity, and Lost in the Library.



Angelica Banks is not one writer but two. Heather Rose and Danielle Wood are both award-winning authors of adult literary fiction and have been friends for years. They had much more fun than you can imagine writing Finding Serendipity and A Week Without Tuesday and spent a lot of time eating chocolate custard and strawberries.


Praise For A Week without Tuesday (Tuesday McGillycuddy Adventures)

A Week Without Tuesday:

“All the worlds are fully rendered and themes of imagination, courage, family, sacrifice, and friendship are beautifully explored. Fans of Edith Nesbit, Michael Ende’s The Neverending Story, and Roderick Townley’s The Great Good Thing have a new home with Angelica Banks.” —Booklist, starred review

“Banks’s wondrously whimsical language helps transport readers into this imaginative world. . . . Creative young authors as well as fantasy lovers will enjoy this inventive book.” —School Library Journal


“A stimulating read that validates and encourages the creative impulse—highly recommended.” —Kirkus Reviews

Finding Serendipity:

"A sparkling children's book debut in a novel that bridges and blurs reality and fantasy. . . . With cinematic imagery and keen wit, the authors construct an inventive novel that raises intriguing questions about the relationship between authors and their characters, and reaches 'The End' all too soon." —Publishers Weekly,starred review

"Spunky characters; spot-on pacing, providing perfectly timed plot revelations; and fully imagined worlds make this a charming winner for curling up with a good book or classroom read-aloud." —Booklist, starred review

"An original, wholehearted affirmation of the written word and the imagination." —Kirkus Reviews

"Banks's story is magically whimsical and filled with adventurous twists that will keep readers turning the pages." —School Library Journal