The Echo Killing (Hardcover)

A Mystery (A Harper McClain Mystery #1)

By Christi Daugherty

Minotaur Books, 9781250148841, 368pp.

Publication Date: March 13, 2018

List Price: 24.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

When a murder echoing a fifteen-year-old cold case rocks the Southern town of Savannah, crime reporter Harper McClain risks everything to find the identity of this calculated killer in Christi Daugherty's new novel The Echo Killing.

A city of antebellum architecture, picturesque parks, and cobblestone streets, Savannah moves at a graceful pace. But for Harper McClain, the timeless beauty and culture that distinguishes her home’s Southern heritage vanishes during the dark and dangerous nights. She wouldn’t have it any other way. Not even finding her mother brutally murdered in their home when she was twelve has made her love Savannah any less.

Her mother’s killer was never found, and that unsolved murder left Harper with an obsession that drove her to become one of the best crime reporters in the state of Georgia. She spends her nights with the police, searching for criminals. Her latest investigation takes her to the scene of a homicide where the details are hauntingly familiar: a young girl being led from the scene by a detective, a female victim naked and stabbed multiple times in the kitchen, and no traces of any evidence pointing towards a suspect.

Harper has seen all of this before in her own life. The similarities between the murder of Marie Whitney and her own mother’s death lead her to believe they’re both victims of the same killer. At last, she has the chance to find the murderer who’s eluded justice for fifteen years and make sure another little girl isn’t forever haunted by a senseless act of violence—even if it puts Harper in the killer’s cross-hairs…



About the Author

As a newspaper reporter, Christi Daugherty covered her first murder at the age of 22. There would be many more over the subsequent years when she worked as a journalist in cities including Savannah, Baton Rouge, and New Orleans. Now a novelist, she lives in the south of England. She is the author of The Echo Killing and A Beautiful Corpse.


Praise For The Echo Killing: A Mystery (A Harper McClain Mystery #1)

“Daugherty uses her experience as a crime reporter to create a pulse-pounding combination of mystery and suspense that hints at a welcome follow-up.” - Kirkus Reviews

“…an engrossing, multifaceted mystery with snappy dialogue, a well-drawn cast of characters, and a sizzling romantic subplot.” - Publishers Weekly

“Fans of Hank Phillippi Ryan and Michael Connelly will thoroughly enjoy this new voice in crime fiction.” - Library Journal

“Well plotted and riveting, this introduction of Harper McClain is a must-read!” - RT Book Reviews

“Daugherty delivers an insider's view of journalism, from the adrenaline rush of covering a major story to the drudgery of delving into the background behind a story. She also nails the newsroom culture, from the humorous banter to the serious work, and shows how layoffs and cutbacks have affected the way journalists cover their community.” - Associated Press

“Eye-poppingly tense, imbued with journalistic authenticity from former crime reporter Daugherty and focused laser-like on her vivid creation of Harper, “The Echo Killing” cries out for a sequel.” - Richmond Times-Dispatch

"A realistic page turner that balances urban grit and Southern Gothic." - Cleveland Plain Dealer

"Christi Daugherty knows the art of weaving a mystery." - Washington Book Review

"This taut, atmospheric thriller held me spellbound from the first page. I didn't want it to end!" - Linda Castillo, New York Times Bestselling Author of the Kate Burkholder series

"The Echo Killing won me over utterly, from its lush southern setting, to the determined, vulnerable Harper and her dogged search for the truth." - Ruth Ware, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Woman in Cabin 10

"A smart, tough, emotionally bruising portrayal of what murder means when it's up close and personal. A terrific book. Brava." - Carolyn Hart, New York Times Bestselling Author of the Death on Demand series

"The Echo Killing is a thriller that's excruciatingly suspenseful, drenched in memory, and has you biting your nails as each chapter unfolds." - Laura Childs, New York Times Bestselling Author of the Tea Shop Mysteries series

"I don't remember breathing the whole time I read The Echo Killing. Christi Daugherty has poured her own experience as a crime writer into a taut and authentic story of a brave but damaged woman." - Rhys Bowen, New York Times Bestselling Author of the Royal Spyness series

"Wrought with wonderfully alive characters and a protagonist who is both tough-minded and tender, this is a story that will have you reading late into the night." - Diane Les Becquets, author of Breaking Wild

"A taut, tightly-woven mystery set in the simmering heat of Savannah. This one kept me guessing till the very end . . . and then left me hungry for more! I can’t wait for Harper McLain’s next outing." - C. J. Tudor, author of The Chalk Man