Skip to main content


Wicked Saints

A Novel (Something Dark and Holy #1)

Emily A. Duncan

Hardcover

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (4/1/2019)
Paperback (4/7/2020)
CD-Audio (4/2/2019)

Spring 2019 Kids Indie Next List

Wicked Saints has everything I look for in a book: dark monsters, powerful magic, and a stunning atmosphere that permeates every page. Inspired by the story of Joan of Arc, Wicked Saints follows a gods-touched peasant girl raised to be the solution to a century-long war. When Nadya’s entire life is burned to the ground, she must work with the enemy and betray her gods to save them all. This book is lush and darkly romantic, perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Leigh Bardugo. Duncan’s thrilling debut explores the ecstasy and heartbreaking tragedy of what it is to love a monster.”
— Laura Graveline, Brazos Bookstore, Houston, TX
View the List

Description

An instant New York Times bestseller!

A girl who can speak to gods must save her people without destroying herself.

A prince in danger must decide who to trust.

A boy with a monstrous secret waits in the wings.

Together, they must assassinate the king and stop the war.

In a centuries-long war where beauty and brutality meet, their three paths entwine in a shadowy world of spilled blood and mysterious saints, where a forbidden romance threatens to tip the scales between dark and light. Wicked Saints is the thrilling start to Emily A. Duncan’s devastatingly Gothic Something Dark and Holy trilogy.


This edition uses deckle edges; the uneven paper edge is intentional.



Praise For Wicked Saints: A Novel (Something Dark and Holy #1)

**Indie Next Pick for the Spring 2019 Kids’ List**

THE NERD DAILY, “The Best Fantasy + Sci-Fi Books of 2019"

PASTE MAGAZINE, "The 19 Best Young Adult Novels of 2019"

SEVENTEEN, "The 70+ Best Young Adult Books of 2019 So Far"

BOOKRIOT, “20 YA Dark Fantasy Books For Your Winter TBR”

BUZZFEED, "29 YA Books You Absolutely Must Read This Spring"

GOODREADS, “32 Big Books that YA Fans Can’t Wait for in 2019”

CULTRESS, “19 books we can’t wait to get our hands on in 2019”

EPIC READS, "The 16 Most Anticipated YA Books to Read in April"

SYFY, "6 April YA Novels That are Out of This World"

"If you like your young adult fantasy full of ice, blood, and angst, Wicked Saints will sweep you up in its wintery embrace." - NPR, "3 Young Adult Novels To Help You Out Of Hibernation"

"This dark fantasy starts off with a bang... The upfront presence of the gods adds an intriguing twist to a brutal story. The ending is as powerful as the opening, and there are explosive elements waiting to detonate in the expected sequels." - BOOKLIST

“If you love dark fantasy this book promises to be a brutal, enchanting gem, full of terrifying blood-magic.” – BOOKRIOT, “20 Dark Fantasy Books For Your Winter TBR”

“Rarely does a dark, magical epic have so effective a character-grounded sense of humor.” - BULLETIN OF THE CENTER OF CHILDREN'S BOOKS

"Filled with stunning landscapes, engaging lore, and an enemies-to-lovers plot for the ages, Wicked Saints is a dense epic about magic, sacrifice, love, and betrayal." - NERDIST, "8 Books to Enjoy Until Netflix's SHADOW AND BONE"

"Emily A. Duncan’s debut YA novel does not disappoint. It’s thrilling and brutal, reading like a heavy metal song. And it’s the first book in a trilogy! I cannot wait for books two and three—and for whatever else this blistering new talent writes. For Fans of: Authors of dark fantasy novels, like Leigh Bardugo." - PASTE MAGAZINE

"Will leave readers hungry for a sequel." - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

"I highly recommend WICKED SAINTS to fantasy readers. Emily Duncan’s writing style reminds me of Leigh Bardugo’s. If you enjoyed the setting of Grisha Trilogy and the characters of SIX OF CROWS, I believe you will enjoy WICKED SAINTS. Duncan’s debut novel is perfect for readers looking for intrigue, dark magic and betrayal on every page." - TEENREADS

Wednesday Books, 9781250195661, 400pp.

Publication Date: April 2, 2019



About the Author

EMILY A. DUNCAN is the New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Saints and Ruthless Gods. They work as a youth services librarian and received a Master’s degree in library science from Kent State University, which mostly taught them how to find obscure Slavic folklore texts through interlibrary loan systems. When not reading or writing, they enjoy playing copious amounts of video games and Dungeons and Dragons. They live in Ohio.