Skip to main content
Cover for Life Is Short and Then You Die

Life Is Short and Then You Die

Mystery Writers of America Presents First Encounters with Murder

Kelley Armstrong (Editor)


List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (9/9/2019)


Life Is Short and Then You Die is the Mystery Writers of America's first teen anthology, edited by #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong.

Adolescence is a time of “firsts.” First kiss. First love. First loss. First job. The first taste of adult responsibilities, and the first look at an independent life away from both the restrictions and the security of home.

And in this case, a very different type of “first”: murder.

This short story collection of murder mysteries adds a sinister spin to the joy and pain of firsts that have always been a major part of life, whether it be high school cliques who take the term “backstabbing” too seriously, stumbling upon a body on the way home from school, or receiving a Snapchat message that promises something deadly.

Contributors include Barry Lyga, Caleb Roehrig, Emmy Laybourne, Jonathan Maberry, R.L. Stine, Rachel Vincent, Y.S. Lee, and more!

An Imprint Book

Praise For Life Is Short and Then You Die: Mystery Writers of America Presents First Encounters with Murder

"Ample entertainment for young murder-mystery aficionados." —Publishers Weekly

"This anthology may entice teens to expand their mystery reading." —Kirkus Reviews

"An appropriate read for a wide YA audience... a great collection for mystery lovers of all stripes." —Booklist

"A few choice selections... for a spooky readaloud." —The Bulletin

"A broad look at the genre... Engaging... Well written and interesting." —School Library Journal

Imprint, 9781250196392, 320pp.

Publication Date: September 10, 2019

About the Author

Kelley Armstrong graduated with a degree in psychology and then studied computer programming. Now she is a full-time writer and parent, and she lives with her husband and three children in rural Ontario, Canada. She is the author of the Rockton mystery series featuring Detective Casey Duncan, which begins with City of the Lost, and the novel Wherever She Goes. She is the editor of the young adult anthology Life Is Short and Then You Die.