Paw of the Jungle (A Paw Enforcement Novel #8) (Mass Market)

By Diane Kelly

St. Martin's Paperbacks, 9781250197375, 368pp.

Publication Date: November 26, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Compact Disc (11/26/2019)
MP3 CD (11/26/2019)

List Price: 7.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Police officer Megan Luz and her K-9 partner in crime, Brigit, are on all fours as they try to solve their latest Lone Star mystery.

AT THE ZOO
The weather is beautiful, work is slow, and her canine colleague could use a walk. What better day for Megan to take Brigit to the Fort Worth Zoo, where they can let loose and witness the law and order of nature unfold? But what begins as a fun field trip turns serious when a pair of rare hyacinth macaws named Fabiana and Fernando goes missing. Is the new custodian, a gentle soul who happens to be an ex-convict, to blame? Or is something far more sinister afoot?

AND ON THE HUNT
The birds are worth thousands of dollars, and the list of people on the premises who might have stolen them is long. Soon other animals start disappearing. . .and Megan and Brigit have their hands and paws full of suspects. But when a rare black rhino is taken from the zoo, presumably for its black-market-friendly horn, time is of the essence. Can Megan and Brigit find out who’s behind the mystery—before they too become prey?

“Funny and acerbic… perfect for lovers of Janet Evanovich.” —Librarian and Reviewer



About the Author

Diane Kelly is a former state assistant attorney general and tax advisor who spent much of her career fighting, or inadvertently working for, white-collar criminals. She is also a proud graduate of the Mansfield, Texas Citizens Police Academy. The first book in Diane’s IRS Special Agent Tara Holloway series, Death, Taxes, and a French Manicure, received a Romance Writers of America Golden Heart Award. Book #2, Death, Taxes, and a Skinny No-Whip Latte, won a Reviewers Choice award. Diane has combined her fascination with law enforcement and her love of animals in her K-9 cop Paw Enforcement series.


Praise For Paw of the Jungle (A Paw Enforcement Novel #8)

"Police offer, K-9 partner, and poacher have complex inner worlds in this tale. Well, police officer and poacher do."—Kirkus

"A complete winner . . . While part of a series, this cozy can be read as a stand-alone and will be appreciated by animal lovers. Recommended for readers of Spencer Quinn's "Chet and Bernie" books."—Library Journal

"Irresistibly unput-downable with its trademark complex plots and crazy characters. Paw of the Jungle is simply the best, paws down!"—Romance Junkies

"[Paw of the Jungle has] the wry commentary sure to bring a smile to any dog owner's face. The extensive background of the zoo, the illicit trading of exotic animals, and the hunting ranches in Texas bring to mind Carl Hiaasen's novels based in the Everglades."—Booklist