Skip to main content
Cover for When Night Breaks (Kingdom of Cards #2)

When Night Breaks (Kingdom of Cards #2)

Janella Angeles

Hardcover

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (10/4/2021)

Description

In Janella Angeles's When Night Breaks, the dramatic last act of the Kingdom of Cards duology, the stage is set, the spectacle awaits… and the show must finally come to an end.

The competition has come to a disastrous end, and Daron Demarco’s fall from grace is front-page news. But little matters to him beyond Kallia, the contestant he fell for who is now missing and in the hands of a dangerous magician. Daron is willing to do whatever it takes to find her. Even if it means unearthing secrets that lead him on a treacherous journey, risking more than his life and with no promise of return.

After falling through the mirror, Kallia has never felt more lost, mourning everything she left behind and the boy she can’t seem to forget. Only Jack, the magician who has all the answers but can’t be trusted, remains at her side. Together, they must navigate a dazzling world where mirrors show memories and illusions shadow every corner, ruled by a powerful showman who’s been waiting for Kallia to finally cross his stage. But beneath the glamour of dueling headliners and never-ending revelry, a sinister force falls like night over everyone, with the dark promise of more—more power beyond Kallia’s wildest imagination, and at a devastating cost.

The truth will come out, a kingdom must fall, hearts will collide.

And the show must finally come to an end.



Praise For When Night Breaks (Kingdom of Cards #2)

Praise for When Night Breaks:

EPIC READS, "The 18 Most Anticipated YA Books to Read in October"

CULTURESS, "Exciting New YA Releases of 2021" and "12 New Science Fiction and Fantasy Releases to Get Chills With This October"

BOOKISH, "20 Books by Asian Authors to Read in 2021"

GOODREADS,
"33 Can't-Wait Works of YA Speculative Fiction"

BOOK RIOT,
"20 Must-Read 2021 Young Adult Fantasy Releases"

FROLIC, "20 Most Anticipated YA Books of 2021" and "Our 10 Most Anticipated YA Books of October"

SHE READS, "Most Anticipated Fantasy + Magical Realism Books of Fall 2021"

GOODREADS, "The Most Anticipated YA Books of October"

UNITED BY POP, "15+ Fantastic New YA Books Releasing In October 2021"

BUZZFEED, "40 YA Sci-Fi/Fantasy Books Releasing This Fall That Are Definitely Worth Picking Up"

"This gloriously spectacular finale steals the show...Entertaining new characters, clever dueling magic, and a touch of romance cap off an unforgettable tale." - KIRKUS (Starred Review)

Praise for Where Dreams Descend:

BOOKISH, "Asian Authors to Read in 2020"

BOOK RIOT, "8 of The Best Magical Cities in YA Books"

BUSINESS INSIDER, "The 33 best new books to read this spring - according to Goodreads"

BUSTLE, "23 Debut Books That Are Too Good To Ignore"

BUZZFEED, "29 YA Fantasy Books We Can't Wait To Read In 2020"

CULTURESS, "20 upcoming YA books we can’t wait to read in 2020"

EPIC READS, "26 YA Retellings That You Should Be Looking Forward to in 2020"

GOODREADS, "The 38 Most Anticipated YA Novels of 2020"

THE NERD DAILY, "The Most Anticipated 2020 Book Releases" and "20 SFF YA Debuts To Watch Out For In 2020"

GOODREADS, "The 36 Most Anticipated Upcoming YA Novels"

POPSUGAR, "27 Exciting Debut Authors You Can Support During the Shutdowns"

ASIAN JOURNAL, "Anticipated 2020 book releases by Filipino & Fil-Am authors"

THE YOUNG FOLKS, "10 Spring 2020 Reads That Prove Books and Music Go Hand-In-Hand"

"A lush, captivating blend of The Phantom of the Opera and fresh, new magic. ...As the romantic tension ratchets up, so deepen the mysteries. Readers will ache for the next installment." - KIRKUS (Starred Review)

"Readers will find themselves quickly immersed in this quirky, well-paced tale of danger, adventure, and magic. The enigmatic ending reassures fans that the mysteries have answers that are yet to be discovered, and that there is more to come in the second part of this Kingdom of Cards duology. Give this to those who enjoyed Cole's Arcana Chronicles or Powell's Game of Triumphs twosome." - BOOKLIST

"Formidable female characters and spectacular set pieces mark this ambitious series launch from debut author Angeles." - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

"This is an intricate love song between the book and the reader, one expertly composed by a phenomenal author. Not only does Janella Angeles seamlessly weave together a fantasy where illusions seem to have more power than reality itself, but she executes each scene with the grace of a dancer gliding across the stage." - THE NERD DAILY

"Angeles’s deep commitment to world-building means that this debut novel has atmosphere galore. It’s lush and amazing at every turn, with fire, smoke, mirrors, costumes, and more." - SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL

"Perfect for fans of Moulin Rouge and The Phantom of the Opera, Angeles' debut is spectacular, spectacular!" - BUZZFEED

"If you’re looking for a spectacle of a read, look no further than Where Dreams Descend, which is so atmospheric you will feel like your world is sparkling." - BITCH MEDIA, 25 YA Novels Feminists Should Read in 2020

"The perfect summer fantasy read." - POPSUGAR

"An absolute success... It met every expectation and more. This story was unbelievable and so much fun to read." - YA BOOKS CENTRAL

"Janella Angeles steals the 2020 show with her fiercely imagined debut starring larger than life characters, a dangerous world alive with magic, and a dizzying dose of grab-a-fainting-couch-and-swoon-away romance!" - Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves

"Where Dreams Descend is a glamorous dark gem of a tale, sparkling with romance, magic, and intrigue. Readers will be captivated by prima donna Kallia as the mystery is slowly unmasked. Bravissima!" - Julie C. Dao, author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns

"Vibrant imagery, jaw-dropping set pieces, sizzling romantic tension, and unstoppable heroine Kallia bring this ambitious debut novel to spectacular life. Fans of Caraval and The Night Circus will be delighted!" - Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn

"[A] spellbinding melody of a book, and the true magic is how Angeles puts all the best parts of an enrapturing theatrical performance onto paper and ink. From the gripping twists in the first pages all the way to the final, heartbreaking crescendo, Where Dreams Descend will surge you to your feet in a standing ovation.” – Sara Raasch, New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes trilogy

Wednesday Books, 9781250204325, 480pp.

Publication Date: October 5, 2021



About the Author

JANELLA ANGELES is the Filipino-American bestselling author of Where Dreams Descend. She got her start in writing through consuming glorious amounts of fanfiction at a young age—which eventually led to creating original stories of her own. She currently resides in Massachusetts where she works in the business of publishing books on top of writing them, and is most likely to be found listening to musicals on repeat while daydreaming too much for her own good.