The Long Call (The Two Rivers Series #1) (Hardcover)

By Ann Cleeves

Minotaur Books, 9781250204448, 384pp.

Publication Date: September 3, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (9/2/2019)
CD-Audio (9/3/2019)
Library Binding, Large Print (10/23/2019)

List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

From Ann Cleeves—bestselling and award-winning author of the Vera and Shetland series, both of which are hit TV shows—comes the first in a gripping new series.

“Ann Cleeves is one of my favorite mystery writers.”—Louise Penny

In North Devon, where two rivers converge and run into the sea, Detective Matthew Venn stands outside the church as his estranged father’s funeral takes place. On the day Matthew left the strict evangelical community he grew up in, he lost his family too.

Now, as he turns and walks away again, he receives a call from one of his team. A body has been found on the beach nearby: a man with a tattoo of an albatross on his neck, stabbed to death.

The case calls Matthew back to the people and places of his past, as deadly secrets hidden at their hearts are revealed, and his new life is forced into a collision course with the world he thought he’d left behind.

From Ann Cleeves, bestselling author of Vera and Shetland, beloved by readers and TV viewers alike, comes a spectacular new series, told with deep compassion and searing insight.



About the Author

ANN CLEEVES is the multi-million copy bestselling author behind two hit television series—the BBC’s Shetland, starring Douglas Henshall, and ITV’s Vera, starring Academy Award Nominee Brenda Blethyn—both of which are watched and loved in the US. Her brand new Two Rivers series will launch in September 2019, with The Long Call.

Shetland is available in the US on Netflix, Amazon Video, Britbox, and PBS, and Vera is available on Hulu, Amazon Video, BritBox, and PBS.

The first Shetland novel, Raven Black, won the CWA Gold Dagger for best crime novel, and Ann was awarded the CWA Diamond Dagger in 2017. She lives in the UK.



Praise For The Long Call (The Two Rivers Series #1)

"The plotting is complex and intriguing, the location comes alive, and the resolution satisfies... fans of Cleeves lamenting the end of the 'Shetland' series will find much to love in her new characters and setting."—Library Journal (starred)

"Fans missing detective Jimmy Perez (Wild Fire, 2018, etc.) will find a worthy successor in the equally complex Venn, who presides over an excellent mystery in this series kickoff."—Kirkus

"Cleeves makes good use of Devon local color and populates this subtle, expertly paced mystery with distinctive supporting characters."—Publishers Weekly

"As a huge fan of both the Shetland and Vera series of books, I had high expectations for Cleeves’ latest. She easily exceeded those expectations with The Long Call. Matthew Venn is a keeper. A stunning debut for Cleeves’ latest crimefighter."—David Baldacci, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Brilliant, thoughtful and deeply engaging."—Sara Paretsky, New York Times bestselling author of the V.I. Warshawski series

"Ann Cleeves is a phenomenal talent. With unfailing skill, gorgeous setting, flawless plot and seamless voice, she brilliantly conjures new worlds in crime fiction. Her instantly iconic Detective Matthew Venn is a treasure—and we will all follow him anywhere."—Hank Phillippi Ryan, Nationally bestselling and award-winning author of The Murder List

“Fans of Ann Cleeves' Vera and Shetland novels won't be disappointed with this unputdownable series debut! With an evocative setting, a gripping plot, and beautifully drawn characters, The Long Call is a terrific read—and Matthew Venn is my new favorite detective.”—Deborah Crombie, New York Times bestselling author of Garden of Lamentations

“A new series from Ann Cleeves had hopes raised sky-high but The Long Call exceeded them. Of course, the setting is sumptuously realised, as Cleeves moves without apparent effort from painting the sweep of wild landscapes to skewering the tiniest domestic vanity. Matthew Venn is a triumph of Cleeves’ particular blend of compassion and toughness and I already love him.”—Catriona McPherson, national bestselling author of Strangers at the Gate

“Ann Cleeves has done it again! A new detective, a new series, another terrific puzzle of a story that won’t let you go until the very end. Matthew Venn quickly earns his place beside Vera and Jimmy in a debut you don’t want to miss: The Long Call.”—Charles Todd, bestselling author of The Black Ascot

"In The Long Call, Ann Cleeves builds a prism of a world, multi-faceted, complex, and as brilliant as a diamond. Fans of Vera and Jimmy will love Matthew Venn."—Lori Rader-Day

"Clever, compassionate, and atmospheric, with a great cast of new characters to love. I am already a Matthew Venn fan."—Elly Griffiths, award-winning author of the Ruth Galloway series

"Ann Cleeves has a special gift for making it seem as if she has been writing about a new character or new location for years. The Long Call is brilliant--a page-turning and sensitively told tale, with a vividly evoked North Devon setting, a powerful emotional heft and a new detective hero in Matthew Venn who you will want to follow for book after book. Wonderful!”—Chris Ewan, award-winning author of the Good Thief's Guide series

"Ann Cleeves’ new series gets off to a terrific start with The Long Call—her native Devon is wonderfully evoked, and Matthew Venn is a very appealing new detective. Another sure-fire hit."—Martin Edwards, author of Gallows Court

Praise for Ann Cleeves:

“Ann Cleeves is one of my favorite mystery writers.”—Louise Penny

“Gripping from start to finish.”—Booklist

“Chilling . . . enough to freeze the blood.”—Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review

“Cleeves’ taut, atmospheric thriller will keep readers guessing until the last page.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)