Skip to main content
Cover for The Kingdom

The Kingdom

Jess Rothenberg, Amy Landon (Read by)

CD-Audio

List Price: 39.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (5/27/2019)
Paperback (8/4/2020)
Hardcover (5/28/2019)

Description

A half-android, half-human girl is accused of murder in Jess Rothenberg's tautly-paced YA thriller, The Kingdom, perfect for fans of Westworld and The Lunar Chronicles.

"Wildly addictive and beautifully terrifying... Readers will leave this glittering theme park forgetting what is real and what is fairy tale."— Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times-bestselling author of The Belles

Welcome to the Kingdom… where "Happily Ever After" isn’t just a promise, but a rule.

Glimmering like a jewel behind its gateway, The Kingdom™ is an immersive fantasy theme park where guests soar on virtual dragons, castles loom like giants, and bioengineered species—formerly extinct—roam free.

Ana is one of seven Fantasists, beautiful “princesses” engineered to make dreams come true. When she meets park employee Owen, Ana begins to experience emotions beyond her programming including, for the first time… love.

But the fairytale becomes a nightmare when Ana is accused of murdering Owen, igniting the trial of the century. Through courtroom testimony, interviews, and Ana’s memories of Owen, emerges a tale of love, lies, and cruelty—and what it truly means to be human.

Macmillan Young Listeners, 9781250211927

Publication Date: May 28, 2019



About the Author

Jess Rothenberg is the author of the young adult contemporary novel, The Catastrophic History of You & Me, published in more than a dozen countries. She is a former editor of books for young readers, including the bestselling Vampire Academy series. She currently works as a writer and freelance editor. She lives in New York City with her husband and son.