Skip to main content


The Whisper Man (Digital Audiobook)

A Novel

By Alex North, Christopher Eccleston (Narrator)

Publication Date: August 19, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (6/9/2020)
Mass Market (9/28/2021)
Hardcover (8/20/2019)
Library Binding, Large Print (12/25/2019)
CD-Audio (8/20/2019)

September 2019 Indie Next List

“A creepy, sinister, can’t-put-it-down story of a town that survives and then relives the crimes of a child serial killer. For those who love psychological thrillers (with the absence of gore but plenty of plot twists and turns), The Whisper Man is a grand ride into the minds of those who kill and those who are victims. You’ll find yourself looking over your shoulder when reading this book. Don’t stand too close to an open window...”
— Helen Gregory, Maria's Bookshop, Durango, CO
View the List

Summer 2020 Reading Group Indie Next List

“Yikes...this one will keep you up at night! Alex North has crafted an ideal thriller, complete with a spine-tingling premise (a serial killer lures his victims outside by whispering outside their windows), a compelling protagonist (a struggling widower with a sweet young son), and two well-drawn detectives. Fans of Jane Harper, Tana French, and Thomas Harris, take note.”
— Emilie Sommer, East City Bookshop, Washington, DC
View the List

Description

"Listeners looking for creepy will find it in full force in Alex North's dark thriller, narrated by British actor Christopher Eccleston." -- AudioFile Magazine

"Reader Eccleston...adds flavor to the tale. He reads with a fervor that gives the story a strong sense of suspense." -- Booklist

This program is read by acclaimed British actor Christopher Eccleston.

In this psychological thriller, Alex North weaves a multi-generational tale of suspense, as a father and son are caught in the crosshairs of an investigation to catch a serial killer preying on a small town.

After the sudden death of his wife, Tom Kennedy believes a fresh start will help him and his young son Jake heal. A new beginning, a new house, a new town. Featherbank.

But the town has a dark past. Twenty years ago, a serial killer abducted and murdered five residents. Until Frank Carter was finally caught, he was nicknamed "The Whisper Man," for he would lure his victims out by whispering at their windows at night.

Just as Tom and Jake settle into their new home, a young boy vanishes. His disappearance bears an unnerving resemblance to Frank Carter's crimes, reigniting old rumors that he preyed with an accomplice. Now, detectives Amanda Beck and Pete Willis must find the boy before it is too late, even if that means Pete has to revisit his great foe in prison: The Whisper Man.

And then Jake begins acting strangely. He hears a whispering at his window...

Praise for The Whisper Man:

"The Whisper Man is the most unsettling thriller I have read since Jo Nesbo’s The Snowman. Much more than the sum of its parts, it is nightmarish and disturbing and, at the same time, a moving and life-affirming novel about fathers and sons, and grief, loss, and recovery." -Alex Michaelides, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Silent Patient

“There’s a soft voice outside your window and it demands your attention. The Whisper Man is coming. In fact, he’s already here. Get ready to be unnerved. This novel is thrilling." - Brad Meltzer, #1 New York Times bestselling author