Chokehold (The Final War #3) (Paperback)

By David Moody

St. Martin's Griffin, 9781250229519, 368pp.

Publication Date: November 19, 2019

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The third book in the new series from Hater author David Moody is perfect for readers of John Maberry and Max Brooks.

A series of nuclear strikes has left huge swathes of the country uninhabitable. It’s a level playing field now: both Hater and Unchanged alike have to fight to stay alive. Both have retreated to their camps to regroup, less than twenty miles away from each other.

It’s here that the last major battle of the final war will inevitably be fought, but neither side has any idea what’s waiting for them just around the corner.

Both armies are ready to fight to the death, each of their leaders hell-bent on victory. Their tactics are uniformly simple: strike first, get the enemy in a chokehold, then strangle the life out of them.

Chokehold is a fast-paced and wonderfully dark story about the fight for survival in the face of the impending apocalypse.



About the Author

From the UK, DAVID MOODY first self-published Hater on the internet in 2006, and without an agent, succeeded in selling the film rights for the novel to Mark Johnson (producer, The Chronicles of Narnia film series) and Guillermo Del Toro (director, Hellboy, Pan's Labyrinth). With the publication of a new series of Hater stories, Moody is poised to further his reputation as a writer of suspense-laced SF/horror, and "farther out" genre books of all description.


Praise For Chokehold (The Final War #3)

"Fans of exceedingly bleak survival horror will be satisfied." —Publishers Weekly

Praise for All Roads End Here:
"Moody’s suspenseful second Final War horror novel, continuing the second series set in the bleak and anger-filled Hater world, is a gripping take on the zombie apocalypse.... Fans of zombie thrillers will not be disappointed." —Publishers Weekly

"Great characters, great story, nobody does the apocalypse like David Moody." —Craig DiLouie, author of One of Us

"Moody has once again delivered a great post-apocalyptic story, maintaining his position at the summit of British horror..." —This is Horror blog


Praise for One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning:

"A bloody fun ride... Another wetwork nightmare that should delight fans of Haters and intrigue writers who wallow in the genre." —Kirkus Reviews

"Moody really knows how to write creeping, claustrophobic terror, effectively sneaking up on his readers and, finally, scaring the life out of them. Top-drawer horror." —Booklist, starred review

"This gloomy psychological horror thriller contains a surprising twist of dystopia, a promising note for the series that it launches." —Library Journal

"Think of a mashup of George Romero and Agatha Christie, and you might have an idea of what awaits you." —The Book Report Network

"Fear stems from isolation and rumor, only to be reinforced by quick and brutal violence. This is gut-wrenchingly realistic survival horror." —Horror Underground blog

"David Moody has a knack for making me feel like a fly on the wall, right there amongst the action but not noticed by the players." —2 Book Lovers Reviews blog, five stars

"The novel rips you out of your safe and sung world and thrusts you into an environment where anyone can turn on you in the blink of an eye. It’s hard-hitting, head-poundingly tense, and drenched from head to toe in blood-splattered cruelty." —DLS Reviews blog

"Moody truly excels at wicked pacing and sharp dialogue, and One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning is no exception." —Ghastly Grinning blog

"One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning is an insightful, rewarding look at physical and social isolation, trust and reaction to adversity when the flight part of "fight or flight" is taken away. It's clever, convincing fiction, claustrophobic fiction." —SFBook Reviews

"A gripping, visceral read, glistening with gore and studded with extreme brutality and with a relentlessly downbeat tone which will please lovers of hard-edged apocalyptic fiction. We await the arrival of book two in the series with considerable interest." —Starburst