Skip to main content


The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae (Digital Audiobook)

By Stephanie Butland, Cathleen McCarron (Narrator)

Publication Date: October 28, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (10/29/2019)
Library Binding, Large Print (4/8/2020)
CD-Audio (11/12/2019)

Description

"Cathleen McCarron's lilting intonation and Scottish accent beautifully capture the quiet optimism of this heartfelt novel, set in Edinburgh." — AudioFile Magazine

For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no listener will soon forget.

Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can be a normal twenty-eight-year-old. She can climb a mountain. Dance. Wait in line all day for tickets to Wimbledon.

But first, she has to put one foot in front of the other. So far, things are as bloody complicated as ever. Her relationship with her mother is at a breaking point and she wants to find her father. Then there's Lennox, whom Ailsa loved and lost. Will she ever find love again?

Her new heart is a bold heart. She just needs to learn to listen to it. From the hospital to her childhood home, on social media and IRL, Ailsa will embark on a journey about what it means to be, and feel, alive. How do we learn to be brave, to accept defeat, to dare to dream?

From Stephanie Butland, author of The Lost for Words Bookshop, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae will warm you from the inside out.