Skip to main content


salt slow (Digital Audiobook)

By Julia Armfield, Kristin Atherton (Narrator)

Publication Date: October 7, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (10/4/2022)
Hardcover (10/8/2019)

Description

"Artistic and perceptive, Armfield’s debut explores the ebbs and flows of human connection in lives touched by the bizarre." - Kirkus

From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link.

In her electrifying debut, Julia Armfield explores women’s experiences in contemporary society, mapped through their bodies. As urban dwellers’ sleeps become disassociated from them, like Peter Pan’s shadow, a city turns insomniac. A teenager entering puberty finds her body transforming in ways very different than her classmates’. As a popular band gathers momentum, the fangirls following their tour turn into something monstrous. After their parents remarry, two step-sisters, one a girl and one a wolf, develop a dangerously close bond. And in an apocalyptic landscape, a pregnant woman begins to realize that the creature in her belly is not what she expected.

Blending elements of horror, science fiction, mythology, and feminism, salt slow is an utterly original collection of short stories that are sure to dazzle and shock, heralding the arrival of a daring new voice.

Praise for salt slow:

“Visceral, fierce, and beautifully unsettling, Armfield’s writing has an astonishing power. This collection haunted me with its brilliance.” — Elizabeth Macneal, author of The Doll Factory

“Armfield is an enormous, gut-wrenching talent.” — Daisy Johnson, Booker Prize-shortlisted author of Everything Under