Skip to main content
Cover for Bitterroot and Sundance

Bitterroot and Sundance

Two Barnaby Skye Novels (Skye's West)

Richard S. Wheeler

Mass Market

List Price: 9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Here sold at one low price, Bitterroot and Sundance are two novels in legendary Western writer Richard S. Wheeler's Barnaby Skye series

Mountain man Barnaby Skye agrees to take a Quaker missionary, Dr. William Penn Sitgreaves, along with his wife Abigail and his party, to Owen’s Fort in the Bitterroot Valley of western Montana. There, the Quakers intend to begin a mission to the Native Americans. Skye quickly discovers that Dr. Sitgreaves, far from being a soft man, has a backbone of steel—and he’ll need it to found a mission in the wilds.

Along the Oregon Trail, a war party of Lakota Sioux rob Con Brann of all that he holds dear—most devastatingly, his daughter Hester. Barnaby Skye endeavors to help Brann, even as the Sioux, 10,000 strong, gather to celebrate their ancient Sun Dance ritual, praying for vengeance upon their enemies—including Skye. Honor-bound to rescue the young girl, Skye must infiltrate their sacred ceremony…even though discovery means horrible death.

Praise For Bitterroot and Sundance: Two Barnaby Skye Novels (Skye's West)

“Skye is one of the most memorable figures in Western fiction since Max Brand’s Destry.”
Tulsa World

“Wheeler is among the best of [the] modern Western novelists.”
Rocky Mountain News

“Pages strong as sun-hardened adobe.”
Kirkus Reviews on Deliverance

“Wheeler is a master storyteller whose many tales of the Westward Movement . . . weave fact, fiction, and folklore into pure entertainment.”
Library Journal

Forge Books, 9781250244116, 704pp.

Publication Date: March 31, 2020

About the Author

Richard S. Wheeler (1935-2019) wrote over fifty novels and several short stories. He won six Spur Awards (for Fool's Coach, Sierra, Masterson, Drum's Ring, Vengeance Valley, and The Canyon of Bones) and the Owen Wister Award for lifetime achievement in the field of western literature. His series include Skye's West and The Witness.

Before turning to fiction he was a newsman and book editor. Wheeler lived in the literary and film community of Livingston, Montana.