Skip to main content


Prodigal Son

An Orphan X Novel

Gregg Hurwitz

Hardcover

List Price: 27.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
CD-Audio (1/26/2021)
Library Binding, Large Print (2/24/2021)

Description

Forced into retirement, Evan Smoak gets an urgent request for help from someone he didn't even suspect existed—in Prodigal Son, the next New York Times bestselling Orphan X book from Gregg Hurwitz.

As a boy, Evan Smoak was pulled out of a foster home and trained in an off-the-books operation known as the Orphan Program. He was a government assassin, perhaps the best, known to a few insiders as Orphan X. He eventually broke with the Program and adopted a new nameThe Nowhere Man—and a new mission, helping the most desperate in their times of trouble. But the highest power in the country has made him a tempting offer—in exchange for an unofficial pardon, he must stop his clandestine activities as The Nowhere Man. Now Evan has to do the one thing he’s least equipped to do—live a normal life.

But then he gets a call for help from the one person he never expected. A woman claiming to have given him up for adoption, a woman he never knew—his mother. Her unlikely request: help Andrew Duran—a man whose life has gone off the rails, who was in the wrong place at the wrong time, bringing him to the deadly attention of very powerful figures. Now a brutal brother & sister assassination team are after him and with no one to turn to, and no safe place to hide, Evan is Duran’s only option. But when the hidden cabal catches on to what Evan is doing, everything he’s fought for is on the line—including his own life.



Praise For Prodigal Son: An Orphan X Novel

"One hell of a series...Nuanced and energetic, this is a great thriller." --Booklist (starred review)

"The pacing is breathtakingly brisk throughout, and the action is relentless... This series continues to impress." --Publishers Weekly

"Fans of Tom Clancy or Lee Child will love this latest installment... which offers twists and turns, danger and adrenaline, and gadgetry worthy of James Bond." --Library Journal

“Read the Orphan X series. You’ll thank me later." --David Baldacci

"A stellar series...the stories get better with each installment." --Associated Press

"Nobody walks the line between blistering action and searing character development better than Hurwitz." --Providence Journal-Bulletin

Minotaur Books, 9781250252289, 432pp.

Publication Date: January 26, 2021



About the Author

GREGG HURWITZ is the New York Times bestselling author of more than a dozen novels, including the #1 international bestseller Orphan X, the first in a series of thrillers featuring Evan Smoak. He has also written young adult novels: The Rains and its sequel, The Last Chance. Hurwitz's books have been shortlisted for numerous literary awards, graced top ten lists, and have been translated into twenty-eight languages.

Hurwitz is also a New York Times bestselling comic book writer, having penned stories for Marvel (Wolverine, The Punisher) and DC (Batman). Additionally, he has written screenplays for many major studios and written, developed, and produced television for various networks.

Hurwitz resides in Los Angeles with two Rhodesian ridgebacks.