The Mountains Wild (Hardcover)

A Mystery

By Sarah Stewart Taylor

Minotaur Books, 9781250256430, 416pp.

Publication Date: June 23, 2020

List Price: 27.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

"With its evocative Dublin setting, lyrical prose, tough but sympathetic heroine, and a killer twist in the plot, Sarah Stewart Taylor's The Mountains Wild should top everyone's must-read lists this year!" — New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie

In a series debut for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson, set in Dublin and New York, homicide detective Maggie D'arcy finally tackles the case that changed the course of her life.

Twenty-three years ago, Maggie D'arcy's family received a call from the Dublin police. Her cousin Erin has been missing for several days. Maggie herself spent weeks in Ireland, trying to track Erin's movements, working beside the police. But it was to no avail: no trace of her was ever found.

The experience inspired Maggie to become a cop. Now, back on Long Island, more than 20 years have passed. Maggie is a detective and a divorced mother of a teenager. When the Gardaí call to say that Erin's scarf has been found and another young woman has gone missing, Maggie returns to Ireland, awakening all the complicated feelings from the first trip. The despair and frustration of not knowing what happened to Erin. Her attraction to Erin's coworker, now a professor, who never fully explained their relationship. And her determination to solve the case, once and for all.

A lyrical, deeply drawn portrait of a woman - and a country - over two decades - The Mountains Wild introduces a compelling new mystery series from a mesmerizing author.



About the Author

SARAH STEWART TAYLOR is the author of the Sweeney St. George series and the Maggie D'arcy series. Taylor grew up on Long Island in New York and was educated at Middlebury College in Vermont and Trinity College in Dublin. She lived in Dublin, Ireland in the mid-90s and she now lives with her family on a farm in Vermont where they raise sheep and grow blueberries.


Praise For The Mountains Wild: A Mystery

Advance Praise for The Mountains Wild

“This mystery, evocative of the Irish diaspora, interrogates both a young woman’s disappearance and the meaning of homeland.”Kirkus Reviews

“Taylor’s affection for Irish geography, history, and culture suffuses the tale, adding texture and atmosphere. Fans of Elizabeth George should take note.” Publishers Weekly

"Lyrical, moody, THE MOUNTAINS WILD unfolds like an Irish ballad, at turns stirring, tender and tragic. Sarah Stewart Taylor has written a book as much about the mysteries of the human heart as the questions surrounding the long-missing woman at the silent center of the tale. A triumphant return to the genre." — New York Times bestselling author Julia Spencer Fleming

"Atmospheric and lyrical, THE MOUNTAINS WILD is that rare thing — a riveting thriller with a beating heart. In this beautifully wrought portrait of love and family, secrets and lies, Sarah Stewart Taylor dives deep into character, all the while ratcheting up the suspense, page by gripping page, through to the stunning end." — New York Times bestselling author Lisa Unger

"A tale of suspense, gorgeously told, eerily atmospheric, set in an Ireland so vivid you can smell the peat smoke. Not to be missed.” International bestselling author Michele Campbell

"The Mountains Wild has all the ingredients you'd want in a tasty thriller — twisted plots, uncertainty about who to trust, dogged investigators and a gripping climax — but it also has two extra spices. First, the setting of Ireland is so vivid and precise, you can practically taste the pints and smell the peat fires. Second, this novel has incredible tenderness and emotional accuracy. This is a thriller with a big heart." — Stephen P. Kiernan