Skip to main content
Cover for You Should Have Seen This Coming

You Should Have Seen This Coming

Shani Michelle

Hardcover

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A teen girl who sees visions of the past must use her gift to save a kidnapped classmate in Shani Michelle's high-stakes YA thriller You Should Have Seen This Coming!

Hayden sees the past. Just touching an object will occasionally give her flashes of the previous owner’s memories. And if that memory happens to be a deeply hidden secret, then she has no problem making you pay for your crime, in cash.

Cassie sees the future, and it sucks. Her dreams are filled with disasters that she feels compelled to stop, and could she please stop watching her boyfriend fall in love with someone else?!

But when Cassie tries to warn Hayden that her latest blackmailing scheme is a trap, she knows she’s really in trouble. Suddenly the upcoming kidnapping is all she can see, yet nothing she does stops it. And it’s all Hayden’s fault!

Can Hayden’s gift help her find Cassie before it’s too late?



Praise For You Should Have Seen This Coming

"With vibes of Veronica Mars, Lois Duncan, and A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder, Shani Michelle’s You Should Have Seen This Coming is a fast-paced, suspenseful, and fun story of psychic sleuthing. Smart and relatable Hayden’s voice captured me from her very first scenes—and I couldn’t stop turning pages until the book’s very satisfying conclusion." —Emily Arsenault, author of When All the Girls Are Sleeping and The Leaf Reader

"Chock full of eerie visions, secrets, and lies, You Should Have Seen This Coming is a suspenseful mystery with a supernatural twist that will have you racing to the explosive finish!" --Kit Frick, author of I Killed Zoe Spanos and Very Bad People

"A smart, fun supernatural thriller packed with zingy dialogue and paced to read in one sitting. I couldn't get enough of Hayden, the scrappy protagonist who monetizes her psychic powers to feed her struggling family—or her simmering romance with Brody, the town golden boy who may or may not have a thing for supernaturally gifted girls. Throw in a kidnapping, a shady sheriff, and a football team full of suspects, and you get the perfect whodunit. I just wish it came with popcorn!" -- Anna Hecker, author of When the Beat Drops

"The kind of taught, suspenseful thriller that grabs your attention and doesn't let you go until the last page. I needed to know how it ended but I never wanted it to end!" -- Sandy Hall, author of A Little Something Different

"
A thrilling read from the first page.... perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Jennifer Barnes's The Inheritance Games series." -- Samantha Hastings, author of The Last Word

"Told in dual distinct voices, one full of teenage wit, and the other from a girl in peril, this YA suspense story explores the relationship between destiny and the ability to create your own future. A supernatural mystery at heart, YOU SHOULD HAVE SEEN THIS COMING by Shani Michelle, is the perfect balance of psychic thriller and teen angst." -- B.R. Myers, author of Rogue Princess

Swoon Reads, 9781250294777, 368pp.

Publication Date: April 12, 2022



About the Author

Shani Michelle is the author of You Should Have Seen This Coming. She also works in TV news. When she’s not writing, she loves spending time with her family, friends and fiancé, reading, watching way too much TV, and coming up with new story ideas. She currently lives in New York City.