Skip to main content


The Mysterious Messenger (Digital Audiobook)

By Gilbert Ford, Lori-Felipe Barkin (Narrator)

Publication Date: July 20, 2020

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (7/19/2022)
Hardcover (7/21/2020)
CD-Audio (7/21/2020)

Description

The Mysterious Messenger is a rich middle grade urban fantasy debut starring young psychic Maria de la Cruz, by the award-winning artist Gilbert Ford.

Eleven-year-old Maria de la Cruz is trapped under the thumb of Madame Destine, her pseudo-psychic mother. Destine is a bona fide con artist who will stop at nothing to swindle her customers into believing she can communicate with the dead. But Maria, unlike her mother, has a big secret—she really can communicate with the dead, most frequently with a ghost named Edward who has been her only friend since she was a child.

It’s not long before this clairvoyant young sleuth gets wrapped up in an epic journey that combines bookish mystery with the literary movement of the Beat poets and art and jazz history. Maria may have the power to unlock extraordinary secrets, but can she find the treasure Edward sends her clues about? More importantly, can she find true friendship?

This smart, big-hearted debut novel is perfect for fans of Book Scavenger, Winterhouse, and The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street.

Christy Ottaviano Books

A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company