Skip to main content
Cover for My Life as a Boxed Set #1

My Life as a Boxed Set #1

Derek Fallon 1-3 (My Life as a Book, My Life as a Stuntboy, My Life as a Cartoonist) (The My Life series)

Janet Tashjian, Jake Tashjian (Illustrator)

Multiple copy pack

List Price: 23.97*
* Individual store prices may vary.


This fun paperback boxed set includes the first three books in the beloved, bestselling middle-grade My Life series by Janet Tashjian.

The irrepressible yet lovable Derek Fallon can't seem to sidestep trouble—whether it's pelting the UPS truck with water balloons, performing crazy stunts at the skate park (that lead to an acting gig!), or getting into a cartooning competition with a classmate—surprises are around every corner (complete with curve balls!).

From bestselling author Janet Tashjian comes a paperback boxed set that includes the first three books in this hilarious, award-winning illustrated middle grade series:
-(1) copy of My Life as a Cartoonist 9781250073389
-(1) copy of My Life as a Stuntboy 9781250010384
(1) copy of My Life as a Book 9780312672898

Christy Ottaviano Books

Praise For My Life as a Boxed Set #1: Derek Fallon 1-3 (My Life as a Book, My Life as a Stuntboy, My Life as a Cartoonist) (The My Life series)

The My Life series:

Over 700,000 copies in print!

"Give this to kids who think they don't like reading. It might change their minds." —Booklist, starred review

"A kinder, gentler Wimpy Kid with all the fun and more plot." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Sure to engage fans of Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid books as well as those looking for a spunky, contemporary boy with a mystery to solve." —School Library Journal

"This is a great package for kids, especially those like Derek who don't think they like to read." —Booklist

“Will thrill young readers.” —Children's Literature

“This book is visually appealing to reluctant readers and shows that all kinds of stories can surprise us.” —Chicago Tribune on My Life as a Book

“A fast-moving plot and relatable protagonist make this stand-alone sequel a good choice for boys who, like Derek, would rather reach for a TV remote or game controller than a book.” —School Library Journal on My Life as a Stuntboy

Square Fish, 9781250621764

Publication Date: October 20, 2020

About the Author

Janet Tashjian is a middle-grade and young adult novelist who’s been writing books for children for over two decades. Her first novel Tru Confessions was made into a critically acclaimed Disney TV movie starring Clara Bryant and Shia LaBeouf. The Gospel According to Larry series is a cult favorite and Fault Line is taught in many middle and high schools. Her bestselling My Life As a Book series is illustrated by her son, Jake. They also collaborated on the Einstein the Class Hamster series.

Janet collaborated with fellow Macmillan author Laurie Keller on the chapter book series Marty Frye, Private Eye. Janet currently lives in Los Angeles and made her new home city the setting of the Sticker Girl series, which details the adventures of Martina who overcomes being shy with the help of her magical stickers that come to life.

Jake Tashjian is the illustrator for the My Life As a...series, including My Life As a Ninja and My Life As a YouTuber. Jake also created and illustrated the Einstein the Class Hamster series. He collaborates on his novels with his mother, author Janet Tashjian. He has also illustrated several books for the author P.T. Evans.

Fun fact: Jake is a visual learner. When Jake was in elementary school, he used to draw his vocabulary words on index cards. This later became the inspiration for the main character, Derek, in the My Life As series.

In 2016 Jake co-founded Workshop 2.0, a non-profit foundation to train and hire other young artists on the Autism Spectrum.

Jake grew up in Massachusetts and currently lives in Los Angeles. He is an avid surfer and filmmaker.