Skip to main content
Cover for Down Comes the Night

Down Comes the Night

A Novel

Allison Saft

Hardcover

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (3/1/2021)

Spring 2021 Kids Indie Next List

Down Comes the Night is a breathtaking debut. Brilliant, healing, and affirming, this gothic fantasy is simply unforgettable. Wren is one of the most empathetic characters I’ve had the pleasure of reading recently. In a country in the midst of a war, Wren is a healer who puts her predisposed biases behind her in order to save someone she isn’t sure is worth saving. I loved every bit of this atmospheric book.”
— Cody Roecker, The Novel Neighbor, Webster Groves, MO
View the List

Description

"A YA fantasy classic in the making." - Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray

"Fans of Leigh Bardugo’s “Grisha Trilogy” and Marie Rutkoski’s “Winner’s Trilogy” have been waiting for this Darkling-esque romance..." - School Library Journal (Starred Review)

Allison Saft’s Down Comes the Night is a snow-drenched romantic fantasy that keeps you racing through the pages long into the night.

He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the magic in his darkness.

Wren Southerland’s reckless use of magic has cost her everything: she's been dismissed from the Queen’s Guard and separated from her best friend—the girl she loves. So when a letter arrives from a reclusive lord, asking Wren to come to his estate, Colwick Hall, to cure his servant from a mysterious illness, she seizes her chance to redeem herself.

The mansion is crumbling, icy winds haunt the caved-in halls, and her eccentric host forbids her from leaving her room after dark. Worse, Wren’s patient isn’t a servant at all but Hal Cavendish, the infamous Reaper of Vesria and her kingdom’s sworn enemy. Hal also came to Colwick Hall for redemption, but the secrets in the estate may lead to both of their deaths.

With sinister forces at work, Wren and Hal realize they’ll have to join together if they have any hope of saving their kingdoms. But as Wren circles closer to the nefarious truth behind Hal’s illness, they realize they have no escape from the monsters within the mansion. All they have is each other, and a startling desire that could be their downfall.

Love makes monsters of us all



Praise For Down Comes the Night: A Novel

BOOKRIOT, "Get Cozy With These Winter 2021 YA Books For Your TBR"

BUZZFEED, "25 LGBTQ+ YA Books You'll Want To Curl Up With This Winter"

CULTURESS, "12 must-read sci-fi and fantasy book releases to escape with this March"

FROLIC, "The Top 12 YA Books Hitting Shelves in March"

GOODREADS, "56 of the Most Anticipated Young Adult Books of 2021"

MEDIUM
, "The Most Exciting Reads of Winter/Spring 2021"

UNITED BY POP, "30+ Must Read March 2021 YA Book Releases"

"Debut author Saft has crafted an intricate world that's figured out down to the details of each character. A choice addition to any collection where Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo rule. " - Booklist

"The Gothic atmosphere includes echoing, candlelit halls; a secret passage; and explosive secrets....readers who love slow-burn romances will find much to enjoy. A promising debut." - Kirkus

"Saft interweaves intrigue, romance, and magic to fashion a slow-burning and atmospheric fantasy debut." - Publishers Weekly

"Fans of Leigh Bardugo’s “Grisha Trilogy” and Marie Rutkoski’s “Winner’s Trilogy” have been waiting for this Darkling-esque romance...Those who pick up Saft’s debut will be richly rewarded on all counts—intricately woven characters, beautiful prose, and darkness around every corner make this fantasy a first purchase." - School Library Journal (Starred Review)

"This gorgeous book definitely has that 'must...keep...reading' power (I read it in one sitting!)." - Buzzfeed, "40 YA Fantasy Books We're Highly Anticipating In 2021"

"Down Comes the Night is lush, eerie, and feels like something fresh within this genre. A tale of politics and war wrapped around an enemies-turned-maybe-something-more romance and all set inside a crumbling mansion full of deadly secrets all combine to create something truly unique" - Culturess

"The building tension and blossoming romance add to the thrill and soon you’re flying through the pages of this book dying to find out what answer behind the murders happening at the Colwick estate.... would definitely recommend this story if you’re looking for something atmospheric and ultimately romantic." - The Nerd Daily

"Complex, carefully rendered, and utterly addictive, Down Comes the Night is a YA fantasy classic in the making. Saft seamlessly blends an utterly original magic system, multifaceted main characters, and forbidden romance into a gothic narrative that will stay with you long after the last page." - Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray

"Down Comes the Night is a twisty dark ride through a gothic world that‘ll keep you up all night. Saft has crafted a deeply romantic tale with fresh magic and mystery on every page, and filled with an arresting cast. An engrossing, haunting, and beautiful addition to the YA shelf." - Isabel Ibañez, author of Woven in Moonlight

"I adored Allison Saft's complex world and engaging heroine. Wren navigates a war-torn country as a healer, wielding her compassion and wit as deftly as her magic. Atmospheric, romantic, and just a touch eerie—this is the kind of story I love to get lost in." - Emily Lloyd-Jones, author of The Bone Houses

Wednesday Books, 9781250623638, 400pp.

Publication Date: March 2, 2021



About the Author

Allison Saft is the author of the eerie and critically acclaimed romantic fantasies, Down Comes the Night and A Far Wilder Magic. After receiving her MA in English literature from Tulane University, she moved from the Gulf Coast to the West Coast, where she spends her time hiking the redwoods and practicing aerial silks.