Skip to main content


Where Dreams Descend (Digital Audiobook)

A Novel (Kingdom of Cards)

By Janella Angeles, Imani Jade Powers (Narrator), Steve West (Narrator)

Publication Date: August 24, 2020

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (6/8/2021)
Hardcover (8/25/2020)
CD-Audio (8/25/2020)

Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List

Moulin Rouge meets Phantom of the Opera in this stunning debut by Janella Angeles. Filled with wonder, sultry performances, and dark mysteries, this book had me on the edge of my seat. I cannot stress enough how fun and dark this one was! This book, with its show-stopping magic, secrets galore, and an unsolved mystery, is not one to miss!”
— Haley Calvin, Neighborhood Reads, Washington, MO
View the List

Description

"Narrators Imani Jade Powers and Steve West team up to deliver an emotionally engrossing performance of this YA fantasy...[They] hook listeners from the first page." -- AudioFile Magazine

In a city covered in ice and ruin, a group of magicians face off in a daring game of magical feats to find the next headliner of the Conquering Circus, only to find themselves under the threat of an unseen danger striking behind the scenes.

As each act becomes more and more risky and the number of missing magicians piles up, three are forced to reckon with their secrets before the darkness comes for them next.

The Star: Kallia, a powerful showgirl out to prove she’s the best no matter the cost

The Master: Jack, the enigmatic keeper of the club, and more than one lie told

The Magician: Demarco, the brooding judge with a dark past he can no longer hide

Where Dreams Descend is the startling and romantic first audiobook in Janella Angeles’ debut Kingdom of Cards fantasy duology where magic is both celebrated and feared, and no heart is left unscathed.

A Macmillan Audio production from Wednesday Books

"Vibrant imagery, jaw-dropping set pieces, sizzling romantic tension, and unstoppable heroine Kallia bring this ambitious debut novel to spectacular life. Fans of Caraval and The Night Circus will be delighted!" - Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn

"[A] spellbinding melody of a book, and the true magic is how Angeles puts all the best parts of an enrapturing theatrical performance onto paper and ink. From the gripping twists in the first pages all the way to the final, heartbreaking crescendo, Where Dreams Descend will surge you to your feet in a standing ovation.” – Sara Raasch, New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes trilogy



About the Author

JANELLA ANGELES is a Filipina-American writer who works in children’s publishing by day while penning novels by night. She graduated summa cum laude from Emerson College with a B.A. in Writing, Literature, and Publishing, but found the most valuable way of learning to write was in creating glorious Harry Potter fanfiction and reading obscene amounts of books. She currently resides in Massachusetts. Where Dreams Descend is her first book.