Skip to main content
Cover for Anzu the Great Kaiju

Anzu the Great Kaiju

Benson Shum, Benson Shum (Illustrator)

Hardcover

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

January/February 2022 Kids Indie Next List

“Just the sweetest, cutest book! A little kaiju doesn’t have the destructive talents of his parents and grandparents. His talents are to make things grow and he comes to realize he and those around him are happiest when he is just himself.”
— Lauren Nopenz Fairley, Curious Iguana, Frederick, MD
View the List

Description

An adorable picture book about a tiny monster with a big heart trying to follow in his family's footsteps.

All great Kaiju are born with a super power to strike fear in the heart of the city.
But Anzu is different.
Instead of mayhem, he likes May flowers.
Instead of striking fear, he prefers to be sincere.
Can Anzu find a way to make his family proud and stay true to his kind self?

From Disney animator and illustrator Bensom Shum comes an adorable and heartwarming picture book about making your own way and the unexpected power of gentleness—perfect for fans of Ferdinand the Bull.



Praise For Anzu the Great Kaiju

"[E]ngaging and heartwarming. . . . A tongue-in-cheek bildungsroman spun around celebrating differences and the underrated superpowers of gentleness and sweetness. —Kirkus

"Shum’s experience as an animator. . . is evident in the way he storyboards the narrative, pulls readers along with cinematic energy, and celebrates Japanese aesthetics—with everything from bonsai trees to golden picture frames to tiny creatures that look like adorable walking dumplings. [A] wholly original tale, which proves humorous, heartfelt, and as sweet as the flowers Anzu conjures." —Booklist

Roaring Brook Press, 9781250776129, 40pp.

Publication Date: January 11, 2022



About the Author

Benson Shum is a children's book author and illustrator who has illustrated a number of picture books like Adam Lehrhaupt's Sloth Went and Jennifer Sattler's Go to Sheep. Benson is also an animator at the Walt Disney Animation Studios, where he was a part of such films as Frozen, Big Hero 6, Zootopia, Moana, Ralph Breaks the Internet, Frozen II, and Raya and the Last Dragon. Originally from Vancouver, BC, Benson now lives in sunny southern California.

Benson Shum is a children's book author and illustrator who has illustrated a number of picture books like Adam Lehrhaupt's Sloth Went and Jennifer Sattler's Go to Sheep. Benson is also an animator at the Walt Disney Animation Studios, where he was a part of such films as Frozen, Big Hero 6, Zootopia, Moana, Ralph Breaks the Internet, Frozen II, and Raya and the Last Dragon. Originally from Vancouver, BC, Benson now lives in sunny southern California.