Skip to main content
Cover for Pineapple Princess

Pineapple Princess

Sabina Hahn, Sabina Hahn (Illustrator)

Hardcover

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

May/June 2022 Kids Indie Next List

“A hilarious picture book that will keep both parents and children entertained, while also opening the door for discussions of why wanting something doesn’t mean it’s always the best idea.”
— Jill Hendrix, Fiction Addiction, Greenville, SC
View the List

Description

A sly, hilarious, and bold picture book from debut creator Sabina Hahn about a fierce little girl who commandeers a rotting pineapple for a royal crown—perfect for fans of Eloise and Olivia.

This misunderstood little girl is certain she’s a princess—despite the protests of her family. One afternoon she’s struck by a brilliant idea. Princesses wear crowns and she knows exactly where to get one.

She gets to work—decimating her midday snack until she has a pineapple headpiece fit for royalty. Is she sticky? Yes. Does her tummy feel funny? Yes. Is she very important? Absolutely.

What follows is a power rush of epic proportions and a horde of eager subjects in the form of flies. Unfortunately, her new subjects take direction. . . poorly. As this princess’s kingdom slowly devolves into chaos, both her rule and her pineapple crown begin to fall apart.

Pineapple Princess is a laugh-out-loud funny debut, perfect for every intrepid, young megalomaniac in the making.



Praise For Pineapple Princess

"This witty (and slightly wicked) book should appeal to readers who admire Eloise's and Olivia’s insouciance, as well as fans of Jon Klassen’s deadpan, elevated humor." —Booklist, starred review

"A silly, sticky, delightfully witty debut." —Vera Brosgol, creator of the Caldecott Honor book Leave Me Alone

"Hysterical and perfect!" —Beth Ferry, New York Times bestselling author of Stick and Stone

"A hilarious romp featuring a small wild thing with a big, big personality." —Kirkus

"[D]eliciously insouciant chaos..." —Publishers Weekly

"[A]bsurd comedy and pure grossness. . . be careful to look for errant fruit at snacktime." —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (BCCB)

Roaring Brook Press, 9781250798367, 40pp.

Publication Date: May 31, 2022



About the Author

Sabina Hahn is a Brooklyn based illustrator, animator, and sculptor who loves stories and tall tales. Sabina has been drawing from before she was born; she is a master of capturing subtle fleeting expressions and the most elusive of gestures. She is a co-founder of Interval Studios. Pineapple Princess is her debut picture book.

Sabina Hahn is a Brooklyn based illustrator, animator, and sculptor who loves stories and tall tales. Sabina has been drawing from before she was born; she is a master of capturing subtle fleeting expressions and the most elusive of gestures. She is a co-founder of Interval Studios. Pineapple Princess is her debut picture book.