Skip to main content
Cover for The Whisper Man

The Whisper Man

A Novel

Alex North

Mass Market

List Price: 9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (8/19/2019)
Paperback (6/9/2020)
Hardcover (8/20/2019)
CD-Audio (8/20/2019)
Library Binding, Large Print (12/25/2019)

September 2019 Indie Next List

“A creepy, sinister, can’t-put-it-down story of a town that survives and then relives the crimes of a child serial killer. For those who love psychological thrillers (with the absence of gore but plenty of plot twists and turns), The Whisper Man is a grand ride into the minds of those who kill and those who are victims. You’ll find yourself looking over your shoulder when reading this book. Don’t stand too close to an open window...”
— Helen Gregory, Maria's Bookshop, Durango, CO
View the List

Summer 2020 Reading Group Indie Next List

“Yikes...this one will keep you up at night! Alex North has crafted an ideal thriller, complete with a spine-tingling premise (a serial killer lures his victims outside by whispering outside their windows), a compelling protagonist (a struggling widower with a sweet young son), and two well-drawn detectives. Fans of Jane Harper, Tana French, and Thomas Harris, take note.”
— Emilie Sommer, East City Bookshop, Washington, DC
View the List

Description

**THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER** "

WORKS BEAUTIFULLY... If you like being terrified, The Whisper Man has your name on it." —The New York Times, Editor's Pick

"SUPERB" —Publisher's Weekly, Starred Review


In this dark, suspenseful thriller, Alex North weaves a multi-generational tale of a father and son caught in the crosshairs of an investigation to catch a serial killer preying on a small town.

After the sudden death of his wife, Tom Kennedy believes a fresh start will help him and his young son Jake heal. A new beginning, a new house, a new town. Featherbank.

But the town has a dark past. Twenty years ago, a serial killer abducted and murdered five residents. Until Frank Carter was finally caught, he was nicknamed "The Whisper Man," for he would lure his victims out by whispering at their windows at night.

Just as Tom and Jake settle into their new home, a young boy vanishes. His disappearance bears an unnerving resemblance to Frank Carter's crimes, reigniting old rumors that he preyed with an accomplice. Now, detectives Amanda Beck and Pete Willis must find the boy before it is too late, even if that means Pete has to revisit his great foe in prison: The Whisper Man.

And then Jake begins acting strangely. He hears a whispering at his window...

This edition of the book is the deluxe, tall rack mass market paperback.

Celadon Books, 9781250801685, 480pp.

Publication Date: September 28, 2021



About the Author

Alex North is the internationally bestselling author of The Whisper Man and The Shadows. He lives in Leeds, England, with his wife and son, and is a British crime writer who has previously published under another name.