Skip to main content


The Last House on Needless Street (Digital Audiobook)

By Catriona Ward, Christopher Ragland (Narrator)

Publication Date: September 27, 2021

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (9/28/2021)
Library Binding, Large Print (4/6/2022)
Paperback (9/13/2022)

October 2021 Indie Next List

“I loved this highly original literary horror novel. Ward does an excellent job in portraying the main characters while slowly peeling back the different layers to the story. Highly recommended.”
— Robert Connolly, Jabberwocky Bookshop & Cafe, Newburyport, MA
View the List

Description

"The buzz...is real. I've read it and was blown away. It's a true nerve-shredder that keeps its mind-blowing secrets to the very end." —Stephen King

Catriona Ward's The Last House on Needless Street is a shocking and immersive listen perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Haunting of Hill House.

“The new face of literary dark fiction.” —Sarah Pinborough, New York Times bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes

In a boarded-up house on a dead-end street at the edge of the wild Washington woods lives a family of three.

A teenage girl who isn’t allowed outside, not after last time.
A man who drinks alone in front of his TV, trying to ignore the gaps in his memory.
And a house cat who loves napping and reading the Bible.

An unspeakable secret binds them together, but when a new neighbor moves in next door, what is buried out among the birch trees may come back to haunt them all.

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Nightfire

“A chilling and beautiful masterpiece of suspense.” —Joe Hill, New York Times bestselling author of NOS4A2



About the Author

CATRIONA WARD was born in Washington, DC and grew up in the United States, Kenya, Madagascar, Yemen, and Morocco. She studied English at Oxford and later the Creative Writing Masters at the University of East Anglia. Her second novel Little Eve won the 2019 Shirley Jackson Award and the August Derleth Prize at the British Fantasy Awards. Her debut The Girl from Rawblood also won the 2016 August Derleth Prize, making her the first and only woman to win the prize twice. Her short stories have appeared in numerous anthologies. She divides her time between London and the remote English moors.