The Vanderbeekers to the Rescue (Hardcover)

By Karina Yan Glaser

HMH Books for Young Readers, 9781328577573, 364pp.

Publication Date: September 17, 2019

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

NYT Bestselling series! Harlem’s favorite family returns in the third installment in the Vanderbeerkers series, wherein the Vanderbeeker kids find themselves racing to save their mother’s baking business from city closure. Illustrated with delightful black and white illustrations.

For the Vanderbeeker kids of Harlem’s 141st Street, spring break couldn’t be off to a better start. Isa’s back from band camp, Oliver’s building his first-ever treehouse in the backyard of the brownstone, and Laney, Jess, and Hyacinth are excited to help their mother when she gets the once-in-a-lifetime chance to star in a cooking magazine.

But the Vanderbeekers’ plans go off the rails when an unexpected visit from city officials puts their mother’s bakery in jeopardy. Now they’ll have to band together to save the day before they’re out of business. Perfect for fans of The Penderwicks and Front Desk.


About the Author

Karina Glaser is the author of The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street and The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden. A former teacher and a contributor to Book Riot, Karina lives in Harlem, New York City with her husband, two daughters, and assortment of rescued animals. One of her proudest achievements is raising two kids who can't go anywhere without a book.

www.karinaglaser.com
Twitter: @KarinaYanGlaser
Instagram: @KarinaIsReadingAndWriting


Praise For The Vanderbeekers to the Rescue

"Once again Glaser produces a charming novel reminiscent of classic and contemporary family story mainstays by Edward Eager, Jeanne Birdsall, and others, but she adds depth with racial diversity, evocative city details, and complex socio-economic issues....Satisfying as a stand-alone and a welcome return for those who consider the Vanderbeekers part of their own family." —Kirkus