The Love Letters of Abelard and Lily (Paperback)

By Laura Creedle

HMH Books for Young Readers, 9781328603661, 352pp.

Publication Date: June 25, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (12/26/2017)
MP3 CD (1/23/2018)
Compact Disc (1/23/2018)
Pre-Recorded Audio Player (2/1/2018)

List Price: 9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A YA debut called "rich and thoughtful" by Booklist, The Love Letters of Abelard and Lily follows the budding romance of two unbelievably lovable neurodivergent teens. This funny, heartwarming story about human connection from a truly exciting talent is perfect for fans of Eleanor and Park and Marcelo in the Real World.

When Lily Michaels-Ryan ditches her ADHD meds and lands in detention with Abelard, she’s intrigued—he seems thirty seconds behind, while she feels thirty seconds ahead. It doesn't hurt that he’s brilliant and beautiful.

When Abelard posts a quote from The Letters of Abelard and Heloise online, their mutual affinity for ancient love letters connects them. The two fall for each other. Hard. But is it enough to bridge their differences in person?  
     
This hilarious, heartbreaking story of human connection between two neurodivergent teens creates characters that will stay with you long after you finish reading.


About the Author

Laura Creedle lives in Austin, TX, and writes about her experiences as an ADHD writer on her website. The Love Letters of Abelard and Lily is her debut novel. Visit her at lauracreedle.com. 


Praise For The Love Letters of Abelard and Lily

"Entertaining, thought-provoking, and unsettling—in a good way." —Kirkus

"
Creedle’s debut novel is rich and thoughtful..." —Booklist

"
Readers will be moved by the sacrifices the teens make for each other, and the open-ended conclusion invites speculation while providing reassurance that the bonds formed between these characters won’t easily be broken." —Publishers Weekly

"A thought-provoking story to fill that empty space on YA shelves for tales of realistic fiction, romance, and humor."—​School Library Journal

"Creedle crafts Lily and Abelard’s story with canny insight...Readers will fall in love with their love."—​BCCB