Click (A Click Graphic Novel) (Hardcover)

By Kayla Miller

HMH Books for Young Readers, 9781328707352, 192pp.

Publication Date: January 8, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (1/8/2019)

List Price: 24.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

For fans of Smile and Real Friends comes a debut graphic novel about friendship and finding where you "click" in middle school.

Olive wants to get in on the act . . .
. . . Any act!

Olive “clicks” with everyone in the fifth grade—until one day she doesn’t. When a school variety show leaves Olive stranded without an act to join, she begins to panic, wondering why all her friends have already formed their own groups . . . without her. With the performance drawing closer by the minute, will Olive be able to find her own place in the show before the curtain comes up?
        Author-illustrator Kayla Miller has woven together a heartfelt and insightful story about navigating friendships, leaning on family, and learning to take the stage in the most important role of all.
 


About the Author

Kayla Miller is an illustrator and cartoonist with a BFA from the University of Arts in Philadelphia. She is the creator of Creep, a web comic series about a boy who gains weird superhero-like powers. Kayla regularly attends conventions to promote her work and meet other artists. tapastic.com/series/Creep


Praise For Click (A Click Graphic Novel)

"This bright and friendly graphic novel is rendered with pleasing, pastel-toned illustrations reminiscent of Raina Telgemeier's art and should appeal to a similar audience."--Kirkus

"Kids who have ever worried about their friendships or popularity will find solidarity in Olive’s familiar story. This story of a kid learning how to use her voice will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale’s Real Friends (2017)."--Booklist

"Well-defined, consistent frames and gutters, along with clear-cut visual storytelling and readable lettering, make this an excellent recommendation for fans of the format and newcomers alike. Those who enjoy Raina Telgemeier, Victoria Jamieson, and the like will find this a lighter but welcome addition and be happy to hear Olive’s adventures will continue."--School Library Journal

"
In both the text and art, Miller’s debut authentically conveys nuanced challenges and everyday moments of childhood, offering a guide for kids navigating friendship, family, and goals."--Publishers Weekly