Miles Away from You (Hardcover)

By A.B. Rutledge

HMH Books for Young Readers, 9781328852335, 272pp.

Publication Date: March 20, 2018

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

 From debut voice A.B. Rutledge comes a quirky and completely fresh story of young love, loss, and the drastic distances we sometimes have to travel in order to move on, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Jandy Nelson. Explores gender nonconformity and the spectrum of sexual preference in an authentic way.
 
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a talented and dazzling transgender girl. Eighteen months since a suicide attempt left Vivian on life support. Now Miles isn't sure who he is without her, but knows it’s time to figure out how to say goodbye.
 
He books a solo trip to Iceland but then has a hard time leaving the refuge of his hotel room. After a little push from Oskar, a local who is equal parts endearing and aloof, Miles decides to honor Vivian's life by photographing her treasured Doc Martens standing empty against the surreal landscapes. With each step he takes, Miles finds his heart healing--even as he must accept that Vivian, still in a coma, will never recover.
 
Told through a series of instant messages to Vivian, this quirky and completely fresh novel explores love, loss, and the drastic distances we sometimes have to travel in order to move on.


About the Author

A.B. Rutledge is an optician from Southeast Missouri. She likes '90s alternative music, dresses with pockets, and leaving Halloween decorations up all year long. When she's not up at 3 a.m. scribbling out stories, you can find her in her art studio covered in paper scraps, paint, and cats. Miles Away From You is her first novel.
www.abrutledge.com
Twitter @a_b_rutledge
Instagram @a.b.rutledge


Praise For Miles Away from You

"A much-needed story about rediscovering identity after loss."--Kirkus

"The protagonist’s dealing with his loss and his return to art is a touching journey."--School Library Journal

"Quietly striking in both story and setting, Miles’s pursuit of answers and understanding makes for a satisfying read."--Publishers Weekly