Skip to main content
Cover for Miss Quinces

Miss Quinces

A Graphic Novel

Kat Fajardo, Kat Fajardo (Illustrator)

Paperback

List Price: 12.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (5/3/2022)
Paperback, Spanish (5/3/2022)

Description

Rising star Kat Fajardo's debut middle-grade graphic novel about a girl who would rather do anything other than celebrate her quinceañera! A funny and heartfelt coming-of-age story about navigating the expectations of family and cultural tradition.

Sue just wants to spend the summer reading and making comics at sleepaway camp with her friends, but instead she gets stuck going to Honduras to visit relatives with her parents and two sisters. They live way out in the country, which means no texting, no cable, and no Internet! The trip takes a turn for the worse when Sue's mother announces that they'll be having a surprise quinceañera for Sue, which is the last thing she wants. She can't imagine wearing a big, floofy, colorful dress! What is Sue going to do? And how will she survive all this "quality" time with her rambunctious family?

Miss Quinces/Srta. Quinces is the first graphic novel published by Scholastic/Graphix to be simultaneously released in English and Spanish editions!



Praise For Miss Quinces: A Graphic Novel

Praise for Miss Quinces:

Publishers Weekly Best Summer Read

The Horn Book Summer Reading Recommendation

★ "With all of the charm of Raina Telgemeier and Lucy Knisley’s works, this title will be enjoyed by voracious fans of coming-of-age graphic novels. But the specificity of having to stride two cultures and feeling like an outcast in both will especially resonate with readers from bicultural communities." -- School Library Journal, starred review

★ “Fajardo’s deft graphic-novel paneling, expressive use of line, and color palette of cool blues and pinks convey the complexity and full range of Sue’s feelings in important moments and more mundane ones.” -- The Horn Book, starred review

"Fajardo’s colorful artwork is lively, full of emotion, and done in a style that will appeal to fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jen Wang." -- Booklist

"Vibrant artwork gives readers a sense of culture that leaps off the page. Bold lush colors and a poignant wrap-up will make the perfect read for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Jennifer Holm, and Victoria Jamieson." -- School Library Journal, Good Comics for Kids Blog

"Fajardo's sympathetic look at a girl learning that she can be herself and still cherish family tradition celebrates the beauty of Honduras with vivid, summery art." -- Publishers Weekly

"Breezy paneling and cartoony art bring humor and warmth." -- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Touching and warm-hearted, this graphic novel shows the joy in embracing family traditions while still being true to yourself." -- Entertainment Weekly

Praise for Srta. Quinces:

Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

Graphix, 9781338535594, 256pp.

Publication Date: May 3, 2022



About the Author

Kat Fajardo is a Honduran Colombian award-winning cartoonist and illustrator from the lively and magical place of Loisaida, New York City. She is a graduate of the School of Visual Arts, and her work has been recognized by online publications such as Remezcla, El Hispanic News, School Library Journal, Huffington Post Latino Voices, and more. Kat loves to create playful and colorful work about self-acceptance and Latine culture. When she isn't making comics, you might find her collecting small junk for scrapbooking, listening to spooky podcasts, or chasing after her sock-stealing pups, Mac and Roni. Kat lives in Austin, Texas. Visit her online at katfajardo.com.