Skip to main content
Cover for Grump Groan Growl

Grump Groan Growl

Chris Raschka (Illustrator)

Hardcover

List Price: 12.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (4/8/2008)

Description

From legendary author and critic bell hooks and multi-Caldecott Medalist Chris Raschka comes a fresh look at bad moods, perfect for fans of Grumpy Monkey and The Pout Pout Fish.
Here's a positive way to face our bad, grumpy, and wild moods! Acclaimed writer bell hooks offers a vision of calm with a soothingly rhythmic text, while award-winning artist Chris Raschka's vibrant art adds a healthy dose of compassion and humor, reminding readers that sometimes you just have to go inside and let it slide.


Praise For Grump Groan Growl

* "[F]ew picture books can match the visceral punch of this one's opening, which does for bad moods what Sendak's wild rumpus sequence did for bedtime naughtiness."
---Booklist, starred review
* "With its intensity and understanding, this bad-mood book rivals Jules Feiffer's I'm Not Bobby! and Molly Bang's When Sophie Gets Angry, Really, Really Angry..."---Publishers Weekly, starred review
"[A] deceptively simple picture book by masters of that form... Its power goes straight to the visceral in a way that will resonate for a long, long time."---Kirkus Reviews
"Expressionistic art and economical poetry combine smoothly to create an inspiring model of self-control... While abstract and symbolic, this book has a healthful and hopeful message that readers will connect with emotionally."---School Library Journal

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 9781368007825, 40pp.

Publication Date: November 14, 2017



About the Author

A world-renowned cultural critic, feminist theorist, and intellectual, bell hooks is a distinguished author and professor of English. She has written several acclaimed children's books including Be Boy Buzz, Skin Again, and Happy to be Nappy, all illustrated by Chris Raschka.
Chris Raschka is the Caldecott-Award-winning illustrator of The Hello Goodbye Window and A Ball for Daisy. He also received a Caldecott Honor for Yo! Yes? and has written and illustrated numerous books for children, including several titles by bell hooks: Happy to be Nappy, Skin Again, and Be Boy Buzz. A 2012 nominee for the Hans Christian Andersen Award, he lives in New York City.